Posted in books

Book Review: Rescue Me

I’m usually not one for contemporary romances. I guess I just find historical settings more conducive to my romantic imaginings. Happily, I can say that Rescue Me grabbed my attention and held it.

rescue-me-book-cover-final-sml

The publisher’s blurb:

When Deputy Sam Brooks commits to something, nothing can sway him—not just on the job as liaison between the Mercy Falls sheriff’s department and PEAK Rescue, but in his private life. He’s the one who stuck around to take care of his mother after his father’s accidental death. And he’s the one who—perhaps the only one—who believes Sierra Rose is the perfect girl for him. Safe, practical, and organized, she’s nothing like her hippie, impulsive, bleeding heart sister, Willow.

Willow, however, has been in love with Sam Brooks for as long as she can remember.  But she wants her sister, Sierra, to have her happy ending. Besides, Willow has other things to focus on—namely, nabbing the job as youth pastor for her small town church. Best thing for her to do is to purge Sam from her heart.

Neither can predict the accident that will bring them together in a fight for their lives in the forbidding wilderness of Glacier National Park. Stranded, injured, and with the winter weather closing in, Sam and Willow will have to work together to save a crew of terrified teenagers. As they fight to survive, they might just discover a new hope for love.

What I thought of the book:

It can be a little confusing at first trying to figure out who each character is and what their relationship (or former relationship) is to another, but Mrs. Warren explains just enough to clue in new readers while not overburdening return readers with things they already know. Each character has his or her own personality and quirks. They are well thought out and mostly believable.

I suppose I say “mostly” because there were a few times I pulled my head out of the story, wondering where that (whatever it happened to be) came from.

The first was how everyone in town seems to attend the same church. Granted, it’s a small town, but I’ve lived in a very small town (a population less than 1000 at the time) and there were at least three churches in that town. So this is a small town where everyone seems to attend the same church, but it’s large enough to have its own hospital. And a state Senator lives there. I’m sure it’s possible, but it just doesn’t seem probable to me.

Another was how “good” everyone is, and without even thinking about it. Like, practically everyone in the entire town. But then the pastor and his wife are so quick to believe the worst about the boy who took their daughter to the homecoming dance and then to a teen party afterward. And then the boy’s father, the Senator, didn’t seem to believe his son, either. If everyone is so well-behaved and with such high morals in this town, why in the world would the parents then jump to believe the very worst about kids who hadn’t really been any trouble (as far as the book goes) with the first incident?

Now I have to say I absolutely loved the way the conflicts and the attractions were written. It seemed so natural, so much like what almost everyone in the world has experienced at one time or another. No annoying people I wanted to strangle, either; just characters I would gladly revisit… and characters (hello, Sam!) that I developed a bit of a crush on, too! What more could I ask for?

Oh, I know – more books in this series!

 

 

 

**I was sent this copy from Revell Books in exchange for my fair and honest opinion.**

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

Leave a Reply

