Posted in Product Reviews, subscriptions, Uncategorized

Fortune Cookie Soap! Halloween!

 

Over the past year or so I’ve bought a few items from Fortune Cookie Soap, and I have loved all of what I’ve received! In case you’ve not heard of the company yet, Fortune Cookie Soap is on a mission to “provide safe unique bath & body products to the world”. They forgot to add how completely fun and adorable their products are, too!

Last week, the Halloween box came in the mail. I waited and waited to open it because I’d planned on doing a YouTube video about it. Unfortunately, I still have tons of U-Haul and FedEx boxes all over the place, with half-filled plastic tubs serving as sorting bins. (Yeah, the results of my California-Clean-Out-The-Storage trip. More on that later!) I got tired of waiting to dive into the box, so I said heck with it. And here’s the post!

20161027_142555

How cool is this? And with a Tootsie Roll, even! So what is all of this, you ask?

20161027_143230

Yes, this is a deodorant, first thing! It’s called Salem, and it is a veggie protein deodorant, smelling of cotton candy, cucumber, and cantaloupe. I really smell more of the cucumber and cantaloupe, which makes it perfect for a deodorant in my opinion! I haven’t tested it out yet – that’s for today – but I’m betting it’s great.

Sistas is a full size OCD Hand Sanitizer. I loveloveLOVE these things. Always have one or two in my purse to use if I’ve been shopping and then go grab something to eat. Who knows what’s been deposited on books and boxes and countertops?? The insert says this is a blend of passion fruit, guava nectar, and bubblegum. I don’t really smell much of the bubblegum, but that’s good – it means Hims will have no problem using this, too!

Ooooh, Master! An exfoliating body wash with the scent of raspberries, candied pineapples, watermelon, a bit of cotton candy and flowers. *laffs* To me, it looks like a strawberry smoothie that’s gone and melted, and it definitely smells of pineapples, watermelon, and flowers! I really like this – it has a gentle way of exfoliating, and it makes the shower smell wonderful.

Amok! Amok! Amok! This stuff smells good enough to eat – seriously! It’s a great foaming sugar scrub, and it feels gentle enough on my arm to be used sparingly on my face – BUT I wouldn’t suggest anyone else try that unless they say it can be used on one’s face. (I don’t have too sensitive skin, so I’d experiment.) It really, really left my skin nice and soft and smooth, and it really looks good, too. And with the scent of caramel corn, buttercream (YUMS!!!) and red apples filling the air, it’s totally mouthwatering!

The Aloe Me Body Whip in Good Zombie is soooo yummy, too! White chocolate, candied apples, marshmallow cream, and butterscotch… heaven, right? The opaque is a lovely whipped cream while the clear is a cool, soothing aloe gel. This really feels wonderful sliding over my autumn legs and my not-yet-sweater-covered arms.

20161027_143128

How many times do I say it – I absolutely love perfumes. So happy to see a perfume oil included in this box, and check out the melted wax seal over the tiny cork stopper! This one is called “I Put A Smell On You”, mixed with the scent of cotton candy, sugar, and dragon’s blood. It reminds me of a lot of shops I haunted (no pun intended!) in California, and I am guessing that must be the dragon’s blood conjuring those memories. I wore this last night and Hims really liked it. Winner!

20161027_142711

A fortune cookie staring at you! That’s what you get in this box. This is the signature product of the company: the fortune cookie soap. And yes, it does have a real fortune in it. This soap came in “Oh, Booook!”, smelling of bubblegum and black cherries. My fortune?

And how stupid adorable is this bath bomb?? Limoncella and sour candy in a cool plastic cauldron, filled with what looks like green bubbles and golden glitter! I can hardly wait to set aside an evening, fill the bath, and plop this bit of magic in the steaming tub!

20161027_143254

If you would like to give Fortune Cookie Soap a whirl, go check out the individual things in their shop, or take a chance and order their Through The Wardrobe 2016 Winter Soap Box (it’s just $19.95 in the US, a bit more elsewhere!). Fortune Cookie produces these great seasonal boxes every three months (along with other special boxes), and fills them with eight to ten items of the limited edition themes they are about to offer online. It’s a great way to try things out and see what scents you fall in love with, and what types of items you have to add to your linen closet! (Okay, so that’s where I keep my overflow…) And one more thing – each of these boxes comes with a $10.00 coupon you can use on your next purchase. How sweet is that?

I almost forgot… I wound up with a cool black and green travel mug in this box, with the logo and the words: “Bubble Bubble, I’m in trouble” on it – perfect to use in my new Jeep!

 

 

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

Leave a Reply

