Posted in cosmetics, subscriptions

Sephora PLAY! – Box #14 (October 2016)

Sephora PLAY! is now available all over the United States! The “title” of this month’s box is: The Cool Cut. There is a fold-out with a bit about each item on it, and the Play!Pass. The Pass entitles us to one-on-one advice from someone at Sephora (which I think just comes with walking in the door, really), and if you scan the Pass when you are shopping, you are awarded a bonus 50 Beauty Insider points.

20161025_183132

20161025_182839

On to what came in this month’s bag!

Christophe Robin Regenerating Mask with Rare Prickly Pear Seed Oil

What do I think about it? This is a hair mask that claims to “restructure, strengthen, and protect all hair types, including damaged” hair. I’ve seen come complaints about the scent – personally, I like it. It does smell a bit old-fashioned, but then you guys know me. *laffs* I haven’t tried it yet, but it seems to be pretty promising. I’ll let you know if it’s a complete disappointment!    

Would I buy this at Sephora? Unless it is completely amazing I probably wouldn’t. The reason? I’m really sold on Aveda products right now. 

 

Erborian Bamboo Crème Frappée Skin Reviving Fresh Gel

What do I think about it? Oooh, more K-beauty! This was a very small sample, but what I have tried of it I do like. It’s smooth, cool, and soothing. and seems to be a pretty good gel for that, though it’s not extremely hydrating – at least not in my opinion. 

Would I buy this at Sephora? Honestly, I’d probably stick to Dr Jart+ Water Drop. 

Farmacy Skin Dew Hydrating Essence Mist & Setting Spray

What do I think about it? One of the main ingredients in this is echinacea, which might be why I immediately thought of Hims’s echinacea tea when I sprayed it on. It sprays a lot of liquid, so be careful! I had been expecting it to come out in a mist, but it doesn’t – it’s more like spraying water out of a regular water bottle onto your face. I’m not sure how well that would go with makeup, either. Plus it has peppermint in it, which makes me leery of getting it near my eyes. Yeowie!

Would I buy this at Sephora? I don’t know! I like the scent, and I think I’d probably love it to refresh my skin when wearing very little makeup. Farmacy needs to rethink their sprayer, definitely – though this could just be the sprayer for the sample and the sprayer for the full size bottle delivers a perfect mist. 

Smashbox Always On Matte Liquid Lipstick

What do I think about it? This lipstick was sent to me in the color “Driver’s Seat”, which is a warm pink. It looks pretty good with my coloring, but I think it’s one of those hues that compliments just about everyone. The applicator is definitely different: it’s a leaf shape with a “color reservoir” in the center, so it picks up more of the product to deposit on your lips. I didn’t have any trouble at all working with it. Does this stay on the eight hours it claims to? Well, not if you go get some Chick Fil A… Other than that, I really like this. It’s lightweight, doesn’t dry my lips or make them feel coated at all, doesn’t smell or taste funky. A win for Smashbox. 

Would I buy this at Sephora? Probably. Not that there’s any dearth of lip stuffs here at my house! I really am liking some of those colors, and I do like the formula a lot. I can see a few more of these finding their way into a Sephora shopping basket. 

The Estée Edit Flash Photo Gloss

What do I think about it? Oooh, loved the opalescent shimmer in the tube! I could see some of it still on my lips. I am a complete nutball for opalescents. This stuff is a bit on the thick side, which makes it feel sticky. It didn’t seem to make much difference with the whiteness of my teeth, either. I’ve actually steered away from this version of Estée Lauder because it’s felt a bit gimmicky to me. I realize they are trying to break away from the “this is Grandma’s cosmetics counter” image (they had that image back in the 80s, even), but I just wasn’t interested. Now – if they make an actual opalescent lipstick? I’m there.  

Would I buy this at Sephora? Maybe, maybe not. Probably not, though, simply because I have glosses and it doesn’t make my teeth look any whiter in photos. 

Yves Saint Laurent – Mon Paris

What do I think about it? When I first tried this, I thought oh no, this is way too candy-sweet smelling for me! Disappointing! A few minutes later, I began smelling flowers. After the perfume settled on my skin and began working with my own body chemistry, the loveliest floral scent emerged. If you aren’t into that, then this won’t be the perfume for you. If you love that type of scent, though, you’re going to absolutely adore this!        

Would I buy this at Sephora? Mmmmm, I think this will need to go on the shopping list. 1.6 ounces for $92.00, but it lasts a long time and smells so good.  

_______________________________________________________

A couple yays, a few nays. Getting to try things out like this for ten bucks a month is a great deal! So so glad that Sephora decided to do this.

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

Leave a Reply

