Posted in cosmetics, subscriptions

Glossybox For October!

After hearing so many good things about Glossybox, I finally broke down and got a three month subscription to see if it lives up to its hype. (The deal advertised on Everything And Nothin’ helped in my decision, too! Hey, buy one and get two boxes free? Sure!)

What came in October?:

20161019_full

Oooh, I can already see some really nice stuff in there! And for the reveal…

20161019_foldout

First I received Unani Il-Illuminate Milk Cleanser. I’ve never tried a milk cleanser before, so was very curious about this one. I love it! It’s very gentle and soothing on the skin and washes away cleanly and easily. I’ve begun using it in the mornings now.

While shopping at Sephora the other day, I thought I caught sight of the Emité Make Up Lip & Cheek Tint on one of the shelves – it was, in fact, Buxom’s Wildly Whipped Lightweight Liquid Lipstick in the color Dominatrix (a fiery red). The packaging is very close! Now, normally I don’t use tints too often, and when I do I lean towards BeneFit’s BeneTint, which I’ve loved for years. They don’t blend easily at all on the cheeks, and come off too soon on the lips. This one by Emité doesn’t seem so much a stain as a coating on the lips. Even ten minutes later I can still feel a bit of stickiness to it. I might use this a few times underneath other colors, but I don’t think I’ll be pulling it out too often.

A sheet mask! Yay! Masque Bar by Look Beauty was a happy addition to this month’s box. Although my eyebrow did raise a bit when I saw the word “grenade” on the package, I was excited to try this one. It fit a bit small, and you can see how it tended to move on my face if I made any type of expression. I did like it, though! And three for $10.00 isn’t a bad price, either.

 

I have so many serums and oils right now, but I never mind trying something new. In this box was DeCléor Aromessence Neroli Hydrating Oil Serum. The full size is 0.5 ounces, and retails for $73.00! (No, that’s NOT what we got!) It definitely smells all-natural… it’s like crushed leaves and wood. Not obnoxious, but not what I was expecting, either. A little goes a long way, and it takes ages for it to soak into your skin. I put it on about five minutes ago and it’s still hanging out, making me feel like teenage me in the summertime (lots of oily skin!). Just not that impressed by this, tough I’ve sure been known to change my mind after a few uses.

A full-sized bottle of OGX Beauty’s Fight Fallout Niacin³ & Caffeine Root Stimulator Spray came this month, too. This is a spray you use on your scalp after towel-drying your hair. I haven’t tried it yet, but I did do a sniff test. Smells good if a bit potent. I’ll definitely have to give this a try!

If you would like to try out Glossybox, you can order them one at a time, for three months, for six months, and a year’s subscription. They also have one-off boxes quite often that you can purchase by themselves. Just follow this link to get started! (And yes, if you use this link, I get some “glossydots” that add up over time and  can use for a free box. So please use my link? Thank you!)

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

4 thoughts on “Glossybox For October!

  1. Can’t pass up a good deal haha! I am a sucker for BOGO!! I haven’t tried the cleanser yet, but I totally need to!! Especially now that you love it!!

    I am totally not a fan of lip and cheek stains either! I was hoping this would be an exception. However, now I am not excited to try it haha. I have the same problem with these products. They really don’t blend easily at all! I end up looking like a clown haha!

    I received the lemon version of the mask and loved it! It felt so amazing (most sheet masks are amazing haha)!

    I didn’t like the oil at all! It really doesn’t sink into the skin at all! It also smells terrible (in my opinion haha). I don’t like strong smelling oils on my face lol!

    I hope next month’s box is amazing!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. THANK YOU for posting about the BOGO! 🙂

      I do like the cleanser a lot. I hope you, do, too! The stain was meh. Maybe I will send it to my sister and see if she likes it for her lips. And yeah – that oil! Ugh! I finally wiped what hadn’t sunk in off my face. Just because it’s expensive doesn’t mean it’s going to be spectacular!

      Is next month’s box the holiday box? Or is that pretty glittery one a box we need to purchase separately? I’m excited to see what’s in it!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I can’t wait to try it! That oil was just not good at all! And I totally agree! A high price tag doesn’t always mean high quality haha! No, next month is just a normal box. The holiday box is limited edition and sold separately hehe.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

