Posted in cosmetics, Product Reviews, subscriptions

Sephora PLAY! – Box #13 (September)

Sephora PLAY! is now available all over the United States! Go sign up! The “title” of this month’s box is: The Unbasic Basics. There is a fold-out with a bit about each item on it, and the Play!Pass. The Pass entitles us to one-on-one advice from someone at Sephora (which I think just comes with walking in the door, really), and if you scan the Pass when you are shopping, you are awarded a bonus 50 Beauty Insider points.

On to what came in this month’s bag!

Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Gel

What do I think about it? I’ve never tried anything Anastasia before, though I know how much of a following these products have – so, of course, I was excited to find this in my bag! I like it so far, having used it just once. It keeps my brows where I want them and doesn’t feel sticky or tacky or greasy. 

Would I buy this at Sephora? It’s $22.00, and I can probably find something comparable for cheaper, maybe even at a drugstore or Target. 

Kat Von D Tattoo Liner in Trooper

What do I think about it? Another one! I think this is number two, or maybe three. But do you see me complaining? Hecks, no! I do love this stuff. It glides on easily and stays on. I have to be ultra-careful with my application, but that’s just me and my klutziness. I really do like this liner. 

Would I buy this at Sephora? When I am done with this sample (and any others I have), yes – most likely I will purchase a full-size one at Sephora!

 20161019_102040

Living Proof Perfect Hair Day Night Cap Overnight Protector

What do I think about it? I have yet to try this. Honestly, after doing my face at night, I don’t even think about the hair. Plus I have long hair, and many times sample sizes aren’t really enough. That being said – I do want to try this! I’ve only heard good things about Living Proof, and I’d love to see how well it works with my Aveda products, too. 

Would I buy this at Sephora? I might. Again, I would have to test it out first. 

Sephora Collection Rouge Shine Lipstick in 14 Love Spell (High Shine Finish)

What do I think about it? Nice and smooth, and feels lovely going on. The color is a bit meh for me, though who knows what my mood will dictate in a few weeks, right? (That’s why I have tons of lip colors!) It doesn’t have the greatest staying power, but I can definitely cope with that.   

Would I buy this at Sephora? Maybe in a different color, like #61 – In Your Arms or #60 – Love Me Tomorrow. Definitely not a bad lipstick at all, and it’s just $12.50.   

20161019_102129

Dr. Jart+ Water Drop Hydrating Moisturizer

What do I think about it? It’s Dr. Jart+! Ever since I first tried a Dr. Jart+ product, I’ve loved them. I use the Derma-foam clay, the tinted day cream, and now the newest things: the  Cicapair Tiger Grass Treatments. So when I found this in my bag – happiness! It works really well. 

Would I buy this at Sephora? Again – it’s Dr. Jart+! *laffs* Yes, actually, I would. I love this company.    

Tory Burch Jolie Fleur Vert

What do I think about it? I love this scent! It’s something I can wear during the day, and to casual happenings at night. Lily of the valley, mandarin, and jasmine all combine for a nice perfume. 

Would I buy this at Sephora? It’s $95.00 for 1.7 ounces. I might really love the sample, but I will stick to my J’adore. Same price, but it’s more a signature scent for me. 

_______________________________________________________

Loving this bag – all things I will at least try! I have noticed that other people are receiving different things in their bags, and I’m wondering how Sephora is deciding who gets what?

For silliness, here is my second helper, Valla, in a fuzzy photo as she’s inspecting what I’ve done…

20161019_102021

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

Leave a Reply

