Posted in books

Book Review: A Lady Unrivaled

I loved the series Downton Abbey – so much so that I haven’t finished watching it because I want to binge-watch before finally seeing the last season! (Hmmm, maybe that’s what I’ll do on my train trip…)

A Lady Unrivaled by Roseanna M. White is the third and final installment in the Ladies of the Manor series. If you are enamoured of the Edwardian Era, you might want to take a look at these books. (And a great kudos here – the model on the cover just perfectly looks the part!)

a-lady-unrivaled

The publisher’s blurb:

White Is Quickly Becoming the Top Name in Edwardian Romance

Lady Ella Myerston can always find a reason to smile–even if it’s just in hope that tomorrow will be better than today. All her life everyone has tried to protect her from the realities of the world, but Ella knows very well the danger that has haunted her brother and their friend, and she won’t wait for it to strike again. She intends to take action . . . and if that happens to involve an adventurous trip to the Cotswolds, then so much the better.

Lord Cayton has already broken two hearts, including that of his first wife, who died before he could convince himself to love her. Now he’s determined to live a better life. But that proves complicated when old friends arrive on the scene and try to threaten him into a life of crime. He does his best to remove the intriguing Lady Ella from danger, but the stubborn girl won’t budge. How else can he redeem himself, though, but by saving her–and his daughter–from those dangerous people who seem ready to destroy them all?

What did I think of the book?

I haven’t really read Edwardian Era novels. No reason, just that I haven’t. This one, however, I’m glad I did. It is the third in a series, but it’s fine as a stand-alone novel, too.

The story takes place in England, with a larger story tying the three novels together concerning stolen diamonds: the Fire Eyes. The mystery was well written and gave me a surprise at its conclusion – gotta love that! The relationships between the characters were believable for the most part, and I loved the way the widowed father, Cayton, dotes on his daughter. The only part that seemed a bit unrealistic to me was the way Clayton kept doubting and doubting that God would actually forgive him his past. (Maybe I would have understood this better had I read the three novels in order?) As it is, I can’t see what was that absolutely horrible that he won’t let that part of his past go. Ella is one of those people who tries to see the good in everyone and everything, but the author doesn’t overdo this or make Ella come off as someone naive.

All in all, a good read. I would suggest, however, that you begin with the first book in the series and go from there!

 

**I was sent this copy from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my fair and honest opinion.**

 

 

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

Leave a Reply

