Posted in subscriptions

Sephora PLAY! – Box #12 (August)

Sephora PLAY! is now available all over the United States! Go sign up! The “title” of this month’s box is: The Eye Openers. There is a fold-out with a bit about each item on it, and the Play!Pass. The Pass entitles us to one-on-one advice from someone at Sephora (which I think just comes with walking in the door, really), and if you scan the Pass when you are shopping, you are awarded a bonus 50 Beauty Insider points.

On to what came in this month’s bag!

Make Up For Ever Artist Shadow in I-544

What do I think about it? This is an “iridescent pink granite” shade, under the “shimmers” on the Sephora site. It’s a nice color, though the payoff doesn’t seem to be too great. At least with that, you can always use more and build it up, instead of worrying about putting too much on with the first stroke! I do like it, and it will work well with earthy, muted eye looks. 

Would I buy this at Sephora? Maybe, maybe not. Honestly, I’d probably try out a bunch of other colors and decide that way. I have palettes that have comparable shades in them already, so I wouldn’t need this color, but others could work. And I do like the company, Make Up For Ever. 

 

 

Sephora Collection Contour Eye Pencil 12hr Wear Waterproof in Love Affair

What do I think about it? I already have a couple of the Sephora eye pencils, and I really like them. (I use Blonde Ambition on my waterline!) Purples and plums always make my eye color pop, so you know I am loving this. 

Would I buy this at Sephora? When I am done with this sample, yes – most likely I will purchase a full-size one at Sephora!

2016 08 22_swatches 

Algenist Eye Renewal Balm

What do I think about it? It goes on very creamy-smooth and soaks in quickly. I haven’t seen any huge differences yet, but I’ve only tried it a couple times! 

Would I buy this at Sephora? I’ve never heard of Alguronic acid before, so I’m curious if this will begin to work better than others after using it for awhile. It costs $68.00 for a half ounce, which is about par for the course, I think. This is one of those wait-and-see things – not sure if I will purchase this, but I can’t say I won’t. 

Lancôme Énergie de Vie Smoothing & Glowing Liquid Care Moisturizer

What do I think about it? It’s nice, and I know the company is reputable! I just have So. Many. Moisturizers. right now that I don’t know what to do with all of them. This one might be tossed in a travel bag.  

Would I buy this at Sephora? Probably not, simply because I have a plethora of moisturizers already, and really don’t need another one just yet!   

Urban Decay Perversion Mascara

What do I think about it? I have had so many of these in samples… I love Urban Decay, and I do like this mascara, but it’s not my favorite. (I still am loving Roller Lash by Benefit!) Another item I might stick in my travel bag for on-the-go use. 

Would I buy this at Sephora? Probably not, but it’s just because Roller Lash has stolen my heart for mascaras!    

Clean – Reserve Warm Cotton

What do I think about it? It smells like fresh laundry. Not that I am complaining! I love the smell, and have a buttload of things from Bath & Body Works that smell like fresh linen, too. It makes me smile and relaxes me, while it gives me energy. I know, that sounds corny, doesn’t it? But I do love this scent

Would I buy this at Sephora? It’s $90.00 for 3.4 ounces. Until I can no longer get the Sea Island Cotton at Bath & Body Works (and they might not have it anymore – I haven’t been in one in awhile), I can’t see myself spending that much for clean linen scent. 

_______________________________________________________

I will definitely be using all of these things, even if just for trips. And I am about to wear the perfume sample, now, too! I have noticed that other people are receiving different things in their bags, and I’m wondering how Sephora is deciding who gets what?

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

Leave a Reply

