Posted in subscriptions

August’s Ipsy Haul!

This month’s Ipsy theme is Sugar Highness. Anyone who’s known me for a few years can probably guess what came to mind when I saw that theme:

 

I was a bit amused to find a couple of my old photos in this mix this morning, too. The 6th one at 0:26 looks identical to one I took of Casper with Coyote in the background, but unfortunately all my photos and things are still in California! (No clue how it wound up with a Viewimages watermark on it…) ANYWAY – 

2016 08 22_August Full Bag

 

There were two different bag illustrations this month -lucky me, I got the one I wanted! It’s a nice size, with light pink lining inside; I can see myself using this one. And now, for what came inside… 

The hair treatment is: IT Hair Care 12-in-1 Amazing Leave-In Treatment.  This stuff smells good. Gotta say that for it! I’ve heard good things about IT Hair Care, so I’m excited to try this. It says to use just a pea-sized amount in the palm of your hand and work it through your hair – only I always have to use more than that.

The primer is: This Works – In Transit Camera Close-Up. Oooh, this is nice. It’s a mask, a moisturizer, and a primer in one. The scent at first is a bit medicinal, but it calms down and begins to smell lighter and just “nicer” after about a minute. It made my skin feel nice and smooth, and I think I will love using this under my makeup! At least you don’t have to use very much, because at $55.00 for 1.35 ounces, that would be a bit on the expensive side.

The nail polish is: Ciaté London Paint Pot. Again, how lucky am I this month with Ipsy? We could receive either Dangerous Affair (a burgundy color), or Spinning Teacup (a nice shade of lavender). I was really hoping for the lavender – and I got it! So glad I got the polish; I’ve really been wanting to try this brand out.

2016 08 22_August eyes

The eye shadow is: Jelly Pong Pong Cosmetics Neapolitan Palette. What a cute little palette! It’s just a trio, but love these colors! (And it’s barely smaller than the full-size one!) The case has an ink drawing of Paris and looks too style-y. The shadows are good and seem to have good color payoff, too. I can see myself bringing this along for a trip!

2016 08 22_August Swatches

The illuminator is: NYX Born To Glow Liquid Illuminator in Gleam. I have sooooo many highlighters and illuminator and glowy-type things now, I doubt I’ll ever use them all. Really, I don’t use them that much to begin with! We could have received this in Gleam (a golden peach pearl) or Sunbeam (a pale pink pearl). I’m not sure why Ipsy sent me the darker one. Just like with last month’s concealer, it’s really a bit too dark for my skin. Other than that, it seems to be a good product – it goes on smoothly and the shimmer is subtle. Maybe I can mix it with my Benefit Moon Beam highlighter?


I sure can’t complain about this bag – especially about the bag itself!

And… if you’d like to try these wonderful glam bags, too, here’s the link to get you started: Get Started With Ipsy! It’s only $10 a month, and no commitment! And they really do get it right much more often than not! 🙂

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

One thought on “August’s Ipsy Haul!

  1. I got the highlighter and the this works primer/moisturizer/mask. I would suggest if you’re getting things that are too dark for your skin tone, retake the quiz to update your preferences and select a lighter skin tone maybe. Mine is set to the medium shade I think or maybe one lighter and I got the lighter of the two highlight shades! I do enjoy both of them though! I got a great Ipsy bag this month.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

