Posted in Product Reviews, subscriptions

Glossybox For August! (Oh, And July!)

After hearing so many good things about Glossybox, I finally broke down and got a three month subscription to see if it lives up to its hype. (The deal advertised on Everything And Nothin’ helped in my decision, too! Hey, buy one and get two boxes free? Sure!)

My first Glossybox was July:

20160726_inside

I love how they present the box – nice tissue paper and tied with a black satin-feel ribbon. And for the reveal…

20160727_items 1

Inside was the Eyeko Fat Stick, in Satin. Love this thing! It’s great as a colorbase for other shadows and for just wearing alone. Creamy and wears well.

20160727_swatches

Then we have the Too Faced Melted Liquifeid Longwear Lipstick in the color Chihuahua. I’ve been wanting to try this for ages, so was so so SO happy when I saw it was in this box! Now, for the name choice…. Chihuahua? Not the most flattering thought there. But guess what? It is a very flattering shade on me, and I am loving the little sponge tip applicator – just squeeze and some melty-goodness comes through to color your lips nicely, so win!

20160727_melted top

I was a bit unsure when I saw the NUXE Shimmering Huile Prodigieuse – the bottle of “I Am Prodigious” body… something. It’s not really oil, but it’s not lotion. It’s just scented body shimmer in a spray. The scent is okay, but not something I would have chosen for myself… but how fun is it to have shimmer all over? It’s a light shimmer, so it’s not like you’re going to go around looking like a disco ball. Something nice to put on shoulders and décolleté on a night out.

Now for my very favorite item in the box: Leighton Denny Expert Nails Miracle Mist. It is a nail polish dryer, actually. My first thought when I saw this was: “Oh, man. Another of these awful things that just make my fingertips oily and doesn’t really do jack for my nails”. Boy, was I wrong! I love this stuff – totally a Holy Grail item! It’s sort of like that canned duster air that’s freezing after you spray a bit – it’s really cold on the nails, but yes, it really dries them quickly!

20160727_items 2

You know about me and the sheet masks… fango Essenziali Moisturize Treatment Sheet Mask was a very nice part of this box. I’ll admit I haven’t yet tried it, but very soon will – I’m wanting to know how good this is!

20160727_glov

Then… oh mah GAWDZ. This little finger hugger thing? I know… it looks as though it needs a little lamb face on it to be a finger puppet, right? It’s called the Glov Quick Treat, and it’s to take off your makeup! With just water! Again… I haven’t used it yet. The few times lately that I’ve worn makeup, I’ve completely forgotten I had this. Maybe I’ll do a YouTube video about it?

Now, for August!

I have had so many things going on lately that I didn’t take a lot of photos for this month’s Glossybox, but I can still review! 20160813_Glossybox August2

DeBruyère After Sun Lotion Monoï smells so beachy-good! I haven’t really been out in the sun that much this summer (in part because these past couple weeks have been totally rain), but I’ve used this lotion a few times on my arms and loveloveLOVE it. I really do. But $12.00 for this size, I’m not so sure I love it quite that much.

Ah, another hair oil: Wella Professionals Oil Reflections Smoothing Oil. I haven’t tested this at all. It’s been very humid and muggy here in Ohio, and putting anything like this in my hair just seems ridiculous right now! And at $20.00 for this (full) size? Plus, I really don’t use hair oil that much, so this will probably be handed over to a friend. Unless she doesn’t want it…

Too Faced! This is their Mascara Melt Off Cleansing Oil Waterproof Mascara Dissolver. (What a mouthful!) It does seem to work well, though it smells a bit like glue. $17.00 isn’t a bad price for 0.23 ounces, considering it conditions your lashes, too – and who doesn’t need that? I’m going to use this stuff, then take off the rest of my eye makeup with the Simple Micellar Water eye makeup remover wipes.

Okay, like forever have I wanted to try something from Borghese, but never have. Until now… I received the Brightening Mud Mask for Face and Body in a 1 ounce tester tube. (The full size costs $37.00 for 7 ounces!) It’s a pink mud, and it smells good… it makes me think of a spa in the 50s or 60s. (I don’t know why, it just does!)

20160813_Borghese

You are supposed to apply a thick layer of mud to your face, wait five minutes, and then wash it off with cold water. I hate to say it, but it was a bit hard to rinse off, and I wound up tugging on my skin trying to get it onto the washcloth. As for brightening my complexion, I really didn’t notice any difference. My skin is nice and soft, but that’s it. Though I was disappointed in this product, I am still hoping to try more Borghese things in the future!

In a cardboard tube came Trifle Cosmetics Lip Parfait Buttery Lip Cream. I received the lighter color, which really washes out my lips, but I still love the formula. This was a full-size product, retailing for $19.00. I’ll definitely use this one blended with another lipstick or pencil, but would have to see the other shades before purchasing it on its own.

And last but not least – the InvisiBobble! It’s the “Original – The Traceless Hair Ring”. I have really been wanting to try this out, too! This was a pack of three, though one has gone missing… I think Valla decided it looked like a pretty good kitten toy. Higher up in my hair, it seems to want to tangle into the strands, but if I use these at the end of a braid or something, they are just perfect! Loving these little doo-dads. And kudos to whoever looked at one of those wrist springies that hold your keys and thought “That would actually work in my hair, wouldn’t it?”

If you would like to try out Glossybox, you can order them one at a time, for three months, for six months, and a year’s subscription. They also have one-off boxes quite often that you can purchase by themselves. Just follow this link to get started! (And yes, if you use this link, I get some “glossydots” that add up over time and  can use for a free box. So please use my link? Thank you!)

 

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

Leave a Reply

