Posted in subscriptions

Sephora PLAY! – Box #11 (July)

Sephora PLAY! is now available all over the United States! About time, huh? The “title” of this month’s box is: Effortless. There is a fold-out with a bit about each item on it, and the Play!Pass. The Pass entitles us to one-on-one advice from someone at Sephora (which I think just comes with walking in the door, really), and if you scan the Pass when you are shopping, you are awarded a bonus 50 Beauty Insider points.

 

 

On to what came in this month’s bag!

Too Faced Soleil Matte Bronzer

What do I think about it? I cringed a bit when I first opened this product. Now, I love Too Faced – I use their Born This Way foundation. Taking one look at the chocolate color of the “Chocolate Soleil” powder, though, I figured there would be no way this would work with my complexion. Thankfully, it’s something you can layer, so you can control the coverage a bit better and it doesn’t seem to be as dark. It is easy to apply, nice and smooth, and smells a bit like chocolate, too!

Would I buy this at Sephora? Noooo, probably not. Nothing against the product, but I just don’t use bronzers!

20160721_111935

BeautyBlender Blotterazzi

What do I think about it? This is one of those things I really wanted to work. I was excited to try it! Unfortunately, it didn’t come with even a plastic sleeve to keep it in – though it did come with some cleaning solution. I tried it a few times and while it may have removed some of the oil and shine, my NYX blotting papers do a far better job, and they don’t cost $20.00. Plus, I don’t have to put them back in my purse after I’ve blotted with no sleeve, then reuse them later. 

Would I buy this at Sephora? No, no, no. Sorry, but no. I’ll stick to the inexpensive blotting papers I find at Target. 

Ouai Wave Spray

What do I think about it? This stuff definitely smells nice, but that’s about it. It didn’t really do a thing to my hair, whereas the John Frieda sea salt beach wave stuff I got last year from Target (I believe) works very nicely. 

Would I buy this at Sephora? Nope, nope, no. It’s $26.00 for hair scent. 

Smashbox Oil Free Finish Foundation Primer Pore Minimizer

What do I think about it? Though I didn’t really notice any difference in pore size (sorry!) I do like this stuff. It glides on nicely and provides a good primer for foundation. 

Would I buy this at Sephora? Maybe, maybe not. There are other primers by Smashbox (and others) I would probably pick up first. 

First Aid Beauty Skin Rescue Deep Cleanser with Red Clay

What do I think about it? My first thought was: “Did they make this in Oklahoma?” (Mom dreaded the days we came home with red mud stains on our clothes because that’s a beeyatch to get out.) Then when I opened the tube to try it, the scent made me think of that sore throat spray, Chloraseptic. Eiw. It feels thick going on, and though it seems to cleanse very well, it left my face feeling like it’s either dried out or I didn’t get all the soap off. I know I did, but it just feels like more is left on my skin. 

Would I buy this at Sephora? No, most likely not. It doesn’t leave my skin feeling clean and fresh, and I love my K-beauty products too much, too. 

Nest – Citrine

What do I think about it? “The dewy softness of lotus flower and freesia are set against sparkling citrus notes and hints of precious woods.” The style is bright, refreshing, sparkling. It is a nice scent, and very appropriate for summertime. And kitten-approved, too, apparently: Valla has her nose stuck in the card folder housing the little sample spray. 

Would I buy this at Sephora? Valla will have to content herself with the sample. I do like it, but not enough to spend $68.00 to purchase it.   

_______________________________________________________

A bag full of things I won’t purchase past the samples. Not that they are all horrible or anything, but just not for me. Definitely not complaining, though: getting to try things out like this for ten bucks a month is a great deal!

Just waiting for my Sephora order to arrive in the mail today. I have to order my toner online!

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

Leave a Reply

