Posted in subscriptions

Unboxing: Target Beauty Box – July

Target seems to have settled into a box-per-month rhythm. This month they offered two, but I just nabbed the one I was more interested in. If you go to their site and search “beauty box” near the end of the month, you can usually see sneak previews of what’s going to be in the upcoming box. They have been released at the beginning of the month recently, so keep an eye out, and snag one early – they do sell out fast!

20160715_full box

 

First, the insert card that tells you about what you will find in the box. It also has a coupon for $3.00 off any beauty purchase of $15.00 or more – which makes the cost of this box more like $4.00 instead of the $7.00 I spent on ordering it. (Okay, yes – that’s that hinkymath we all do when trying to rationalize a splurge.)

First was the Tom’s of Maine Antiplaque and Whitening Toothpaste. I have never, ever thought to try any Tom’s of Maine toothpastes because they are all-natural. I figured they would taste a bit nasty and wouldn’t work as well. After trying this, though, I do like it! The taste takes a bit getting used to, just because it’s not the usual bold taste you normally get. But it really leaves my teeth feeling clean.

Dove Regenerative Shampoo and Conditioner came in little travel sizes. They are good, but nothing really wowed me. The shampoo cleaned my hair well and the conditioner left it soft and not prone to tangles, so that’s good!

The next little tube is Garnier’s Clearly Brighter Moisturizer with an SPF of 15 and an oil-free formula. I like Garnier, but prefer their hair products to their skin care. I’m not sure if I will use this, simply because I already have moisturizers and moisturizers with higher SPFs and… well, I just don’t need it right now!

The three brightly-colored packets are a brand I’ve never heard of before: Sweet Spot Labs On-The-Go Wipettes. The green is Grapefruit Verbena, the yellow is Vanilla Blossom, and the blue is Neroli Mandarin. The Target site says this about them: Natural, pH-balanced feminine wipes made with botanicals and essential oils for an instant refresh. Paraben free. I haven’t tried one yet, but why not? I’d rather have the faint scent of Vanilla Blossom around my nethers than eau de Massengil! (Yasss, I went there…)

The tall bottle is Umberto Beverly Hills Lifting Powder for hair. It’s supposed to add height. lift and texture, and absorb excess moisture. I was taken off guard when I pulled this out of the ox and realized it’s a squeezy bottle! I hate to say it, but there doesn’t seem to be very much in the bottle – maybe about 1/5 full, which won’t give me a lot of product to test.

20160715_lipstick

The last thing in the box this month was the NYX Butter Lipstick. I love this formula! It really is nice and buttery, and looks very nice on the lips. I’ll need to mix mine with other shades of lipstick, however, because Sandy Kiss really washes me out. I dunno – might work for a 60s mod makeup?

20160715_lipstick swatch

The new box should be out soon – keep an eye out for it on the Target website! They are usually between $5.00 and $10.00, depending on what’s in them. And don’t forget there’s the $3.00 coupon off your $15.00 beauty purchase (cosmetics, skin care, hair care).

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

3 thoughts on “Unboxing: Target Beauty Box – July

Leave a Reply

