Posted in Ipsy haul, subscriptions

July’s Ipsy Haul

This month’s Ipsy theme is Hot Summer Nights. Makes me think of Meat Loaf. The performer, not the Tuesday night dinner plate!

2016 07 21 July bag

 

This bag totally made up for the not-so-fun bag last month. It’s a holographic silver with a rainbow of undertones, and I love the top-view umbrellas with offset shadows! The inside is a nice baby pink color, too. Something I wouldn’t recommend for constant use because it will get dirty easily, but I think it’s cute! And now, for what came inside… 

The hair serum is: Eva NYC Get Glossed! Hair Serum.  I wasn’t too thrilled with this when I saw it in my bag. It’s not labelled, for one thing. For another, I really don’t use hair serum. I might try this after swimming to help with my ends, but it just not something I use. I will say it smells really nice!

The primer is: Too Faced Hangover Replenishing Face Primer. My current foundation is Too Faced Born This Way, and I have been loving the bediddles out of it. (Yes, I just made up a word. Spread it around!) I’m very excited to try out their primer. Just trying it on my arm, it leaves the skin feeling satiny smooth, and I’m quite happy about that.

The lotion is: Skyn Iceland The Antidote Cooling Daily Lotion. When I first pulled this out, I didn’t realize it’s for your face. Cooling lotion for your face? Well, I really liked it! It does cool a bit when you first put it on, but after about a minute you no longer feel that sensation. The scent is light and fresh – not minty or cucumber-y, but just like fresh air. It’s a sample size I’ll definitely use!

2016 07 21 July swatchesMOD

The eye liner is: Thrive Causemetics Infinity Waterproof Eyeliner in Lauren (matte black). The first thing I thought when I saw this was “Oh, goody. Yet Another Black Eyeliner.” Seriously, I have them coming out the wazoo. That being said, I tried it when I went to renew my driver’s license… and I really love this one. It goes on like silk, it can be smudged (there’s even a smudger and a perfect-fit sharpener on the other end!), and it’s waterproof – which meant that my dry eyes watering all over the place that morning didn’t budge the liner! I will definitely be purchasing more from Thrive, both because of the quality and because they donate cosmetics to women going through cancer treatments. Love that!

 

The concealer is: EM Cosmetics The Great Cover Up Concealer in Light Neutral/Cool. I have really been wanting a liquid concealer, but just haven’t bought one. When this came, I thought “Great!” Ermmm… not so much. Granted, I haven’t tried it on my face yet, but the photo up there doesn’t really show the contrast between the concealer color and my skin shade. If a concealer is that far away from the right shade on my inner arm, it’s not going to work on my face, either, which made me sad.


Not a bad bag at all this month! I am definitely loving some of these things – and the bag itself!

And… if you’d like to try these wonderful glam bags, too, here’s the link to get you started: Get Started With Ipsy! It’s only $10 a month, and no commitment! And they really do get it right much more often than not! 🙂

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

Leave a Reply

