Posted in cosmetics

Grav3yardgirl’s Swamp Queen Palette!!!

A few years ago I was searching YouTube for… something. I don’t even remember what it was now. In my video wanderings, I came across this young woman with a mass of blonde hair piled on top of her head, and something intrigued me enough to click *play* and watch her video. Within a few minutes I was laughing my hiney off, and suddenly realized she totally reminded me of my little sister. They don’t actually look like one another, but there are mannerisms and facial expressions and just an all-around attitude that made me think of Lexi.

Yeps, that was my introduction to Bunny Meyer, aka Grav3yardgirl. Even Hims knows who she is now, and will reference her. (Believe me, that’s something!)

So when I learned that she was doing a collaboration with Tarte Cosmetics, I set my cap to nabbing those! As of right now, they are showing as sold out on the Tarte website, on Sephora and Ulta sites, and I couldn’t even find it at Macys.com. Ulta stores put their stock out over a week ahead of schedule, so by the time I learned of that, they were already sold out, too. Ohhh, Sephora – you’re my only hope! Friday was launch day at Sephora, so I took my very first Uber ride to the shopping center (more about all that later!), and even though I was there close to opening, I wasn’t the first to get the palette!

2016 07 08 Swamp Queen palette and lippy

Look, the gator has wings! The palette is covered in an old-style wood pattern, with a drawing of a winged alligator (if you subscribe to Bunny’s channel, you give an alligator its wings), and the words “Grav3yardgirl Swamp Queen” and “tarte” stamped in gold foil. The three open edges are all shiny gold, too.

2016 07 08 Swamp Queen palette

When you open it, the wonderful array of colors are couched in more shiny gold. The large mirror on the lid has this message printed across the very top:

Believe in yourself. Love yourself. Embrace your individuality.

Something we all do well to remember.

As for the colors – I love them!!! My eyes really look great when I’m using purple or rose or that type of color on them, so I was thrilled to find those shades in this palette. They don’t seem to be in many Tarte palettes that I’ve seen. The eye shadows are pigmented nicely, and go on well, if a bit powdery. You’ll have fallout with these, but really – just use a light brush to whisk away extra color from your cheeks. (Of course, I wound up with Mancat settling in to color under my eyes yesterday, so I had to dot a bit more foundation on to hide it – but it was worth it to me! Plus, I’m not the best at makeup yet, either.)

2016 07 08 Swamp Queen palette eyes

Yes, there really are swatches for each number… my fair skin doesn’t always cooperate! These are on my inner arm in late afternoon sunlight, but through glass, as I couldn’t wrangle the kitten away from the door and not mess up the swatches in the meantime. From left to right we have Amazonian clay shadows in:

  1. #SFS, a rose gold with a little shimmer
  2. Natural Peaches, a peachy nude matte
  3. Dogman, a burnt sienna shade with a bit of sparkle (just a bit!)
  4. Big Baby, a cream matte
  5. Sassy Bun, a shimmery, shiny copper peach
  6. Sippy Sippy, a glittery brown, though my photo doesn’t really show the glitter
  7. Haunting, a pretty lavender with a bit of shimmer
  8. Uncommon, a purple slate with the eensiest bit of sheen
  9. Mancat, a gorgeous deep plum matte

2016 07 08 Swamp Queen palette cheeks

And for the face, this was taken in the same area, but prior to the above photo (so you don’t see the rosy tint of my forearm being laundered to get the colors off!), and with a bit of cloud wisping over the sun. These are:

  1. Sweet Tea, an Amazonian clay bronzer
  2. Does This Thing Really Work?, an Amazonian clay blush
  3. Gator Wings, an Amazonian clay highlighter

2016 07 08 Tarteist Bunny Texas Toast

Unfortunately, I have yet to get my mitts on the Tartiest Creamy Matte Lip Paint in Swamp Family Red (it’s only available online – but of course is not available anywhere… go figure!), but I did nab myself some Texas Toast. Oh my good gracious! It is soooo velvety going on, and the color works with me, too! I am seriously thinking of stocking up on this!

2016 07 09 me makeup

I tried taking photos of the eye look I did, following the guide sheet in the package, but for some reason they all came out looking as though Hims had socked me! Yeah, I figured that probably wouldn’t be something I should publish, right? *laffs* So here is what it sort of looked like on my yesterday, complete with Does This Thing Really Work? on my cheeks and Texas Toast on my lips. Naturally, my hair didn’t feel like cooperating. Mrph.

So seriously, this is a limited edition palette, and for $45.00 it’s a pretty good deal – especially if you are part of the Swamp Family! The lip paint is $20.00, and it’s got me wanting more, and in different colors.

Have any of you bought this palette? What did you think? If you didn’t buy it, was there a reason? I’d love to hear!

 

 

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

One thought on “Grav3yardgirl’s Swamp Queen Palette!!!

Leave a Reply

