Posted in Uncategorized

My June Favorites!

Oh, wow – the Fourth of July weekend is already done! Hims and I stayed close to home. Partially because we lack the funds to go jet-setting around the country, but also because please… we do not want to have to deal with a noisy & packed hotel, noisy & packed restaurants, and congested highways.

My favorite lip product:

from the Besame website!
from the Besame website!

 

Besame’s newest shade: Victory Red. I’ve never tried their cosmetics before, so was taking a bit of a gamble with this one – and I absolutely am obsessed! More to come in a separate post!

My favorite nail polish:

From the CrowsToes site, courtesy PeachyPolish
From the CrowsToes site, courtesy PeachyPolish

 

Asgard by CrowsToes Nail Color! I bought this off the Llarowe site about a year ago, and am so happy to see that both Asgard and Midgard (amazing holographic polishes!) are still being made by CrowsToes.

My favorite scent:

Tocca Cleopatra

 

 

Tocca – Cleopatra. As the Sephora website says: Inspired by the Mediterranean seductress, Cleopatra captivates the senses. It is infused with the crisp, fresh scent of juicy grapefruit and soothing cucumber used in the legendary queen’s beauty rituals. It’s perfect for hot summer days and sultry summer nights. I really love the whole Tocca line, and wouldn’t have discovered it except Sephora sent me a sample of Margeaux (I think it was) a couple years ago. I loved it so much I wanted to try out the rest! I have seven of their perfumes currently. (I believe – I’m too lazy to go count them right now!)

My favorite app on my phone:

FotoRus

 

FotoRus for Android. This is one of those photo editors – one of a bazillion out there for free. (Free, as you can see by the big ol’ advertisement up top!) You can do a photo collage, stickers, pro edit (pretty much accessing everything else), beauty filters, and PIP – like I did with the flowers below. The ads are annoying, of course, and they are always trying to get you to download other photo apps for free, but it’s fun to play with.

FotoRus 1

 

 

My favorite munchie:

664px-Honeycrisp-Apple

Honeycrisp apples! I never heard of these before moving to Ohio, and now I can’t get enough of them. So so juicy and sweet, with a wonderful crisp texture. I love them so much Hims will pay $3.99 a pound for them in the off season! (I have me a pretty good guy, huh?)

Favorite thing to watch on television:

Dark Matter

 

 

Last year, Hims and I stumbled across Dark Matter on SyFy On Demand. Just idly curious, we clicked on it to check it out. And then we saw the names behind the show: Joseph Mallozzi and Paul Mullie – both from the Stargate series. (Mallozzi was all three, while Mullie was Stargate SG1 and Stargate Atlantis.) As Neogaf sums up: Dark Matter follows six passengers aboard a spaceship who wake up from cryo-sleep with no memory of who they are or how they got there. The only clue to their identities is a cargo bay full of weaponry and a preset destination: a remote mining colony that’s about to become a war zone. Their investigation into their situation triggers a series of interactions that provide clues to their individual identities … and as to why they’ve been brought together to fulfill an elusive and ever-daunting mission.

This series, based on a comic book, seemed to start out slow for us. As the show progressed, it got better. The characters all use the order number in which they woke as their names: One, Two, Three, Four, Five, and Six, and Android, who is an android with control over the ship. Two is the leader, and while she finally began to grow on us, her character in the first few episodes nearly made us stop watching: she just was coming off as the hard-ass tough female leader who can do anything better than any man out there, and everyone had better agree. Yuck. (Give me Samantha Carter any day.)

What kept me coming back, other than playing Where’s Waldo with former Stargate people (Rodney McKay, I’m so lookin’ at you!), were the characters Five, a young teen girl who seems psychic at first and who is a whiz with anything mechanical, and Six, a quiet but very strong man who grows to be somewhat of a protector of Five. I was sad when it disappeared off the On Demand list, and since neither of us heard anything else about the show, we assumed it had been cancelled after one season. Not so fast! Hims was browsing Syfy yesterday afternoon to see if they were showing any of the old-old Ghost Hunters episodes since the season premiere is coming up soon, and there is was: Dark Matter. “Hey, isn’t that the show we were watching?” he asked. And when he clicked on it – Season 2 Episode 1! Happy, happy!

My favorite thing at Trader Joe’s:

image from eatingatjoes.com
image from eatingatjoes.com

 

Never never never would I have thought in a million years that I would be loving on some parsnip chips. But I am! They are crispy, sweet with a bit of a carroty flavor to them, and just too good to put down.

What else should I add to my monthly favorites list? Anyone have any suggestions?

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

3 thoughts on “My June Favorites!

Leave a Reply

