Posted in cosmetics, subscriptions

Sephora PLAY! – Box #10 (June)

Sephora PLAY! is now available all over the United States! About time, huh? The “title” of this month’s box is: The Minimalists. There is a fold-out with a bit about each item on it, and the Play!Pass. The Pass entitles us to one-on-one advice from someone at Sephora (which I think just comes with walking in the door, really), and if you scan the Pass when you are shopping, you are awarded a bonus 50 Beauty Insider points.

2016 06 22 Play bag

 

The booklet that came with it:

2016 06 22 Play booklet

 

On to what came in this month’s bag!

 

Bumble and bumble – Don’t Blow It

What do I think about it? It smells good, I can definitely say that. This product is supposed to add body to medium-to-fine hair to give it that air-dried look without using a blow dryer. Well, I always air dry my hair (without a blow dryer most of the time!) and my hair is pretty long. I tried it on my bangs, which are way past due for a trim, and it seemed to “tousle” them pretty nicely. 

Would I buy this at Sephora? I doubt it, simply because I don’t style my hair all that much. And $31.00 for a product that does what my hair naturally wants to do wouldn’t be that smart. Though I do like the scent! 

bareMinerals bareSkin Bronzer

What do I think about it? Well, this must be pretty popular, because the site says it’s out of stock as I write this! The sheet says that this “blendable, lightweight liquid bronzer maybe worn alone or over foundation to give skin a sheer, natural-looking touch of sun”. I haven’t tried this on my face yet, but I really am curious to see how it works with my complexion. It is definitely a liquid, so I’ll have to be careful when using it! 

Would I buy this at Sephora? I really don’t use things like this, though if I wound up falling in love with it, you know I will!

 

Benefit Cosmetics They’re Real! Mascara

What do I think about it? I have been a fan of Benefit for years. I’ve used this mascara for a long time as my mainstay, and I still really like it – I just have more of a fondness for their Roller Lash mascara. This is a really good formula, and definitely worth trying out if you haven’t already!

Would I buy this at Sephora? Already have! Quite a few times, as a matter of fact! 

Becca Backlight Priming Filter

What do I think about it? I’ve never tried anything by Becca, though I’ve always heard good things. I do like this product, though I haven’t given it a real test run yet – like worn it for a full day on my face! 

Would I buy this at Sephora? I am not sure yet. It’s $38.00 for one ounce. That’s not really an issue if I absolutely love the stuff and will use it a whole lot. If I don’t see myself using it that much,or if it doesn’t want to work on my skin, then nope, I wouldn’t purchase it. 

Tarte Tarteguard 30 Sunscreen Lotion Broad Spectrum SPF 30

What do I think about it? Oooh, I love Tarte (Grav3yardgirl Swamp Queen Palette, I’m lookin’ at you!), but really not sure about this stuff. I’ve seen a lot of not-so-good reviews about it, that it causes breakouts and clogs pores, leaves a shimmery/oily white sheen on your face, things like that. So while I haven’t tried this yet, I’m a bit wary to do so – I don’t need help in the face demon department! 

Would I buy this at Sephora? Probably not. I use some drugstore stuff when I am going to be in the sun for awhile, and it’s been working fine the past few years. No need to change what works!

Tocca Beauty – Florence

What do I think about it? LoveloveLOVE Tocca. I already have a small bottle of this that came in a trio a couple years ago, and I do wear it a bit. It might be a little too floral for some, but it works well with my chemistry. 

Would I buy this at Sephora? Already have! 

_______________________________________________________

 

Okay, this month was a bit better, though the bag now just says “Play!” across the front of it. Yes, I’m still grousing a bit about the loss of the boxes. First world problems or something like that, right? But I’m glad to see the items included are getting back to the old quality!

Now to see about taking a quick trip to Sephora tomorrow, because my Play Pass from last month will expire soon!

 

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

2 thoughts on “Sephora PLAY! – Box #10 (June)

    1. Thank you! You can always try the subscription for a few months and cancel if you don’t like it – unless you’re like me and will just keep getting a subscription “just in case” it winds up getting better right after I cancel. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

