Posted in cosmetics, Ipsy haul, subscriptions

June’s Ipsy Haul!

This month’s Ipsy theme is Rebel Rebel. Like the David Bowie song, though the name is all they have in common.

2016 06 21 June Ipsy bag

 

This is definitely not one of my favorite bags this month. The rebellious edginess they are trying for gets a bit lost when they spray paint “makeup” on the bag, you know?  And now, for what came inside… 

The nail polish is: Formula X Nail Polish in Wingwoman.  I do like Formula X nail polish. This is a mini size, but still enough for me – especially with this shade. It’s a bit on the orange side (and not the shade I can wear) for my complexion, but I’ve still been wearing it anyway! It’ll be great for bitty nail art… okay, when I actually get around to doing some again!

The makeup brush is: Royal & Langnickel MODA Crease/Smudge Brush. I have never heard of this brand. Like at all. (Though that might not mean much…) I just used this brush this evening and I am loving it. It’s just the right length to feel comfortable in my hand, and the brushes themselves really work nicely – picking up color and distributing it exactly where I want it.

2016 06 21 June happy hibiscus blush

The blush is: Seraphine Botanicals Happy Hibiscus Blush. Oooh. I looked at the color of this and thought it was not going to work for me. On the Ipsy site it looks like a burnt sienna/orange, and I was already resigned to giving it away. When it arrived, I wanted to at least open it and see if the color was still all wrong. (Don’t worry – I would have just passed it on to my sister after opening it. She can handle my germs. *laffs*) Happily, I discovered it looked a bit more like a dusky rose to me, and that I can use. So yesterday I tried it on just on my bare skin – and I loved it. It’s light at first, but buildable, and I prefer that type of control. And it stays on, too!

The eye shadow is: Urban Decay Eyeshadow in Fireball. Please…. Urban Decay! You know I love this company. You know I was thrilled Ipsy was sending out even a mini of an eyeshadow. And upon opening my bag, I saw I got the color I was hoping for, too! It’s a “shade shifter”, and it just looks super great on my eyes. Its one of those colors I can wear alone, like I did last night, or I can build it up and wear with other colors. Definitely made me smile!

2016 06 21 June swatchesMOD

The mask is: ClariSEA Deep Pore Detox Activated Charcoal Exfoliating Mask. What the blue blazes is this thing? I open up the jar to find very very fine charcoal powder inside. So fine it’s soft. The instructions are pretty much one teaspoon of powder to one half teaspoon water, mix to a paste, and apply. Rinse when dry. Hey – I can do that! I’ll warn y’all: it’s got the potential to be pretty messy. Don’t use around curious kittens or if you’ve got the sneezes. I put it on my face before I began working on this post, and by the time I got to *here* it was pretty well dry. I just rinsed it off, and it felt at first as though it hadn’t done anything. Just had sat on my face and dried there. Disappointed. However, after drying my face and running my fingers over my cheeks – I think it really did do a nice little exfoliating job, and without any potential roughness or anything. Good deal! I love when products surprise me like this.


Wewt! The bag was the only bit of disappointment for me this month – how cool is that? Ipsy struck gold! I will definitely be using all these things pretty often, and will probably wind up purchasing them when these run out. (Okay, so I’d purchase different brushes…)

And… if you’d like to try these wonderful glam bags, too, here’s the link to get you started: Get Started With Ipsy! It’s only $10 a month, and no commitment! And they really do get it right much more often than not! 🙂

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

2 thoughts on “June’s Ipsy Haul!

Leave a Reply

