Posted in shopping

My May Favorites! (Kinda Late…)

I can’t believe it’s already June! So what were my favorites for May?

My favorite lip product:

Bite Beauty - Amuse Bouche in Kimchi

 

That Bite Beauty lipstick I received in the Sephora Play! bag this past month. (Bite Beauty – Amuse Bouche in Kimchi) Seriously – I am liking the color, though I’d never have chosen it for myself, even after trying it on. It’s this hot pink shade that looks just shocking on me at first… and then… it starts looking better and better. I know a lot of it is that I am just not used to wearing such bold colors, but to heck with that! I’m loving this lipstick.

My favorite nail polish:

Hubba Hubble Formula X

 

Hubba Hubble by Formula X. Yes, I do love glitter nail polish. It’s a total pain to remove, and it begins clumping up way too soon in the bottle, but I love the glinting reflections of the light on my nails!

 

My favorite scent:

nd

 

Hugo Boss – Woman. Another not-so-new fragrance. I found this while shopping one of those discount perfumeries in the mall about five years ago. As someone mentioned elsewhere, it’s fresh and sweet with a hint of spice. It’s just perfect for when I want to spritz on a scent for running to the store or something. Much to my chagrin, the only one I could find that day was an eau de toilette, which is very light and doesn’t last too long. I’d adore it in a perfume!

My favorite app on my phone:

Screenshot_2016-06-07-11-24-49

 

Brain It On for Android. The game is described like this: “Deceptively challenging puzzles for your brain! Draw shapes to solve challenging physics puzzles. They’re not as easy as they look. Care to give one a try?” Believe me, it’s a lot harder than what you might think, but it’s also very addicting! Thank goodness you can watch a video that shows how to solve it… but even then it can be really hard to get it just right.

Screenshot_2016-06-07-11-25-10

Screenshot_2016-06-07-11-25-32

 

My favorite munchie:

Bananas. Sliced up and smothered in whipped cream. Absolutely buried in the stuff. If I could find some good no-points chocolate syrup or hot fudge…. oh, heaven!

Favorite thing to watch on television:

60-days-in

When I first pulled this show up on On Demand, I figured it would either be complete crap, or it might actually be a little bit interesting. Huzzah for the latter! Of course there’s a warning at the beginning of each episode about violence and sexual situations…. there are a few fights, but what you see on regular television and in movies is worse. And the “sexual situations” are just a few people hitting up others for sex for trade. Again, you see worse everywhere else. One of the guys, Robert, didn’t seem to take anything seriously at all. It was to the point that I was wondering if something really bad was going to happen to him. He completely ignored the training that Sheriff Noel and the others gave, and acted as though he was in his own reality television show for a lark and a shot at fame. Others in the series were really good, really serious about the project, including a police officer (Tami), an ex-Marine (Zac), and one of Mohammad Ali’s daughters.

If you’re curious about life inside a county jail, this is a cool series. It’s not going to show anything really hard-core, of course, but the friendships that develop might surprise you.

 

My favorite thing at Trader Joe’s:

wn-chile-lime-seasoning-blend

 

Yes! Chile Lime Seasoning Blend. Now, personally, I don’t care much for lime. Or mangoes. And certainly not chile lime mango anything. I didn’t realize Hims picked this stuff up until we got home a couple weeks ago, and then it didn’t dawn on me what it actually was until he’d tried it on hamburgers and decided – no. Not on beef. (He’s always looking for different seasoning creations for his meats.) Then I remembered what this stuff is: you sprinkle it on fruit! I have yet to break it to him…. not sure if he’ll start experimenting with all different fruits, and maybe vegetables… legumes….

What else should I add to my monthly favorites list? Anyone have any suggestions?

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

Leave a Reply

