Posted in subscriptions

Sephora PLAY! – Box #9 (May)

Sephora PLAY! is now available all over the United States! About time, huh? All the items come in this nice box, great for storage, and placed … oh, wait.

This isn’t what I found in my mailbox yesterday:

2015 09 24 Play_ box

This is what I found:

20160519_box 1

Granted, I know the post office bashes boxes at times. That stuff happens. But if this had happened last month, the damage wouldn’t have been this extensive, because the Play! box was always packed inside a second, shipping box. Instead, I only had to pull on the end of the box to have it come right out:

20160519_box 2

See the white thing in there? That’s the bag with the items. Not too secure.

The booklet that used to come with the subscription:2016 04 26 bookletAnd the fold-out leaflet that came this month:

20160519_box 4 insert

How stuff used to look when I opened it:

2016 04 26 open 2

And how it looked yesterday:

20160519_box 3

This would not have happened with the old box:

20160519_box 5 Korres20160519_box 6 Bite

And one last thing before I get to the actual samples: I still have my Play! Pass from the very first box. It expires May 31, 2016. The one that came yesterday (on cheaper paper, too) expires June 30, 2016. So Sephora is now going to try and make sure we visit a store to purchase things (and get our 50 Beauty Insider points) every month, instead of letting us wait, possibly until we have some cash on hand, and come in a couple times in a week with a Play! Pass each time. I have a feeling there will be Play! Passes left unused a lot. But maybe that’s part of the angle?

Okay, on to the items, and then I will continue my rant. Because I ain’t finished yet.

 

20160519_box 9 full

 

Bite Beauty – Amuse Bouche in Kimchi

What do I think about it? I like Bite Beauty a lot. Kimchi is actually a shocking pink color – if I ordered kimchi at a restaurant and t arrived looking like this, I would be seriously concerned! I put it on and it takes a bit of getting used to (I don’t normally wear really bright colors), but it actually looks good. I like it, and I love the formula. Smooth, buttery, and glides on easily. 

Would I buy this at Sephora? Probably not this color, but I can definitely see myself trying out other shades in this line. 

Tarte Tarteist Lip Crayon in Latergram

What do I think about it? This is a sample, 0.001 oz. I had a hard time getting it to come up out of the case, and it looks like just enough to outline my lips once. I do know I love Tarte products, but not sure about this one specifically.  

Would I buy this at Sephora? After I try it a few times, I might. It’s Tarte, so it has a boost right there! 

20160519_box 8Tarte

Origins Maskimizer + Drink Up & Clear Improvement Masks

What do I think about it? This is what came with the foils. This is something you would expect to receive as one of your three free samples when ordering online. There is a small atomizer with the treatment in it so you can spray it on your face, and two attached foils with small amounts of a purifying mask and a hydrating mask. The Maskimizer treatment itself smells like Windex. It really doesn’t seem to do much, either, at least for me. 

Would I buy this at Sephora? Nope. And it’s not just because of the tiny sample – it’s because I really, really don’t see that I need this product. I don’t need a spray to prep my face for a mask, especially if I have just performed my skincare routine (oil wash, foamy wash, toner – then I do a mask). 

Korres Wild Rose Sleeping Facial

What do I think about it? I. Love. Korres. I have loved their makeup and skin care for years. I’ve already been using this sleeping cream for awhile now, and it’s wonderful. It smells beautifully like roses, but it isn’t overpowering or sickly-sweet. It leaves your face well-hydrated and so so soft in the morning! 

Would I buy this at Sephora? I already have!

Briogeo Don’t Despair, Repair! Deep Conditioning Mask

What do I think about it? I haven’t used it yet, and seeing some of the reviews on the Sephora site about it, I’m not sure I want to take the time. The reviews are either really good or one-star reviews where the treatment did nothing. It smells good – like coconut oil, I think. And the sample looks like there’d be enough for even my long hair. I might try it in a day or two!

Would I buy this at Sephora? No, I really wouldn’t. It costs $36.00 for 8 ounces. I would rather spend less on 6.7 ounces of Invati conditioner from Aveda, because I know it works and works well.    

Atelier Cologne – Orange Sanguine

What do I think about it? I’ve received another sample of this perfume (one of my three samples when ordering), and I really like it. It’s not perfectly me, but it’s nice, and it’s one of those I can use for a nice change of pace at times. 

Would I buy this at Sephora? I might. As I said, it’s not quite my scent signature (and I can be really fussy about that!), but it might be fun to have a small bottle around for a change of pace. 

_______________________________________________________

 

This month was a disappointment. I feel as though Sephora used the last eight months to put out well-curated, well thought out boxes with nice, glossy booklets, pretty packaging, and secure shipping, in order to build up hype through the bloggers and Instagrammers. They knew people would be on the waiting list for months. They knew people would see what those of us in test cities were receiving and would want the same. And Sephora failed, in my opinion. They went with a cheap bag of thin material and sent out things you can get for free in your free samples when ordering online. They have shortened the time you’re able to use your Play! Pass drastically. And the booklet has been replaced with a cheap-looking fold-out.

Sephora dropped the ball on this. To me, they are cheating all the people who have waited so long to subscribe. Not in a huge way, but enough that it matters. I’m hoping they up their game once more because I have really enjoyed the past eight months of Play! and would like it to continue.

 

 

 

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

Leave a Reply

