Posted in Product Reviews

Product Review: WHEN Masks

You guys know I love skin care, and I really love face masks of all types! There’s a new brand called When from Korea that’s showing up in places like Sephora, and I was aching to try it out.

I did film a video for YouTube with me trying out the mask, and that will be up in a few days. (I’ve only just begun with videos, so it takes me awhile!) But I can sure tell you what I thought, right?

2016 04 26 three face masks

First off, what the company says:

The When masks product lineup includes 5 unique masks and each mask has a special function and usage. These include:

• Travelmate
• 10PM
• Snow Magic
• Glamour Base
• The Last Choice

Product Highlights:

When uses an all-natural bio-cellulose sheet that is made from coconuts, which is gentle enough to treat burn patients. Despite its light weight, the bio-cellulose sheet can hold essence 100 times its weight, that is 10 times more than fabric or paper mask sheets. As much essence as it holds, the bio-cellulose sheet delivers essence to skin with minimum wastage by maintaining exceptional dermal contact.

Natural, hydration, adhesion – the elements you demand in a face mask, When has them all at their best.

I was sent Snow Magic, Glamour Base, and The Last Choice to try out. I’ve already used The Last Choice (which I filmed) and Snow Magic.

What did I think?

When I opened The Last Choice, I was a bit confused. I’m used to just having to unfold a sheet mask and apply it to my face. That’s how we all do it, right? But the When mask had three layers to it, a plastic sheet, a thick almost translucent sheet, and a paper sheet. Three! Oh, no…. am I going to do this wrong? Which is the part I’m supposed to apply? Why are there three pieces? Oh noes!

Ah, thankfully my logical side took over. I figured the piece in the middle was what I needed to use, and I was correct. It’s a bio-cellulose sheet, and it feels a bit like really, really thick rice paper. I was worried when I put it on my face that it would slide off with the weight of all the essence, but it didn’t – it stayed right where I put it. There is really no discernible scent to it, which is always nice.

I left it on my face for the thirty minutes the packaging suggests, and when I took it off, it was still soaked in essence! I patted the mask on my neck and chest to apply some there – hey, why waste any, right? There was still a lot left on my face, and it took a bit to pat it in. I didn’t quite get it all to soak in, but that’s fine. It means there’s more than enough good stuff in this mask!

My skin felt very hydrated after using the mask. It felt really good and it didn’t irritate my skin at all. And the softness of my skin lasted for hours! I really do like these masks. If you’re curious about them and would like to try them out, check out their website and you can find them here:

• Sephora
• Ulta Beauty
• Anthropologie (online only)
• Bartell Drugs
• Beautychoice.com (online only)
• Birchbox (online only)
• Rickys NYC
• Starboard Cruise Services

 

 

**I received this product from When in exchange for a fair and honest review.**

 

 

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

2 thoughts on “Product Review: WHEN Masks

  1. I saw these at Ulta today and grabbed a couple, but eventually decided against getting them. I have a stash of sheet mask, so maybe I’ll try some when I am running low! Good read!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

