Posted in Uncategorized

There’s Dust Everywhere!

Hi, y’all!

I’m hoping everyone’s having a great week. Me – I’m on Day Five of The Great Spring Cleaning Project!  Hims and I live in a townhouse in an area where dust, dirt, and critters are prevalent. Last year we did no spring cleaning whatsoever, and the year before was minimal. One of those “We’ll do it next weekend” type things. Only a portion of the house was cleaned up to be presentable in early March when Deanna came to visit. (We had just had to let my kitty of 19 years go to sleep during a sudden illness the week before, and I just really wasn’t in the cleaning headspace.)

So last weekend I took a look around… and took a second and third look around. And cringed. Clutter. Everywhere. Not filth or nasty bugs or *uck* rodents, but clutter and things that were intended to go someplace but didn’t make it because that someplace was already filled with clutter – ohhh, you know. So I started by washing the dishes that had somehow wound up piled in one of the sinks. And over on that counter were a few. And some baking sheets that still had grease congealed in foil covering them. After finishing all that, I just kept going.

And going.

And going.

I did take a little video with my phone before I began (though I’d already done some straightening and all in the dining room – slash – crafty room), so I just might post that. Later. After I get everything done.

I am just now finishing the crafty room, with probably another hour or two to go on it. Yes, I work slowly. After that is the living room, or as much as I can do before Hims takes the Christmas things to storage. To be honest, the Christmas things were all packed up in the car months ago, and we drove over to storage to put them away, but the gate wouldn’t open. Hims called the 24 hour maintenance line, but they told him it would be a few hours before they could get there, and we didn’t have the time to wait. So… Dexter sprawls out on the top of one of the tubs and watches everything going on outside.

20160513_Dexter

And sniff a dandelion I brought in for him.

Hopefully sometime this weekend we will go to IKEA for a few things, although we all know no one goes to IKEA and just gets “a few things”, right? I’ll try to contain myself by making a shopping list, and then actually bringing it with us. I’d like some things to help me store pots and pans, and possibly some baskets or something for the pantry.

Another reason I am doing all of this is because we want to get a kitten. Since Poos left, Dexter has been really good at “adopting” me as a second human, but we all know Hims is Dexter’s human. Besides, we both think he’d be happier with a little sister to play with. Because kittens are small and like to explore, it’s high time we kitten-proof this place as much as we can.

So, downstairs now for some lunch, and then back to work for me! With Dexter helping, of course…

2016 05 12 Dexter Closet

 

 

 

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

Leave a Reply

