Posted in books

Book Review: Live Fearless

This isn’t a “regular” book review, in the sense that I’ve read a story and am now sharing my thoughts. This is a book review of… a coloring book!

Yes, an adult coloring book by Margaret Feinberg called Live Fearless.

2016 05 03 Live Fearless 1

Hims bought me my first “adult” coloring book for Christmas last year, and I absolutely love the thing. So much I got another one a few months ago. When I saw this coloring book come up for review from Bethany House, I really, really wanted to review it! Since there were only 50 print copies available, I figured it was a long shot at best. When I didn’t receive the acceptance email, I shrugged and made a mental note to take a look at it when I found it in Barnes and Noble. (Which I did, by the way, and was planning on picking it up this week!)

Then surprise! It showed up in my mailbox just yesterday! I had to pull out my colored pencils immediately.

2016 05 03 Live Fearless 2

 

From the Back Cover

PRAY • CREATE • MEMORIZE • REFLECT • JOURNAL

What if? 

Life is riddled with uncertainty. Perhaps that’s why Jesus is so passionate in His command, “Do not fear.” He challenges us to enter uncertainty with faith, the unknown with trust, the uncharted with hope.Live Fearless provides an opportunity for you to pull away from the hustle and bustle of life to pray, journal, and unleash your creative gifts and rediscover the goodness and faithfulness of God no matter what you’re facing.

· Spend time in prayer, reflecting and growing in your relationship with God
· Commit Bible passages to memory and deepen your faith
· Share your fun artistry with others through what you create

2016 05 03 Live Fearless 3

What did I think of the book?

When I first opened it, I found the forward: What If? As in “What if the bank account dips below zero? What if the economy doesn’t improve?… What if our health deteriorates? What if something happens to someone we love?” How many times have questions nearly identical to these marched through my brain in the wee hours of the morning? Really, in the bright, daylight hours, too! There have been long stretches of days during which these what ifs were all I could hear in my head. It’s not fun.

But she goes on to remind the reader to trust in God, and why all these annoying what ifs begin to paralyze us and keep us from the simple (but sometimes really hard) act of trusting God and not being afraid of all the things we’re worrying about.

As I came to the coloring pages, I saw different designs, different ways things could be colored and decorated. Central to each design is a Bible verse reminding us not to fear, to trust, to believe. The coloring pages are on the right side of the book, and the left side has a dotty-lined page with “Pray And Reflect” at the top, and the Bible verse for the corresponding doodle in plain type below it. These dotty pages are there for people to doodle on themselves, or write their own thoughts and ideas.

I’m definitely no Biblical scholar, but even then I was surprised at the different translations of the Bible that were used for the quotes. Ones I’ve never heard of. I can see why they were used – the wording works well with the idea for the coloring page.

The paper itself is nice and thick, and works well with colored pencils. Since I don’t use watercolors or other paints, and I don’t use markers of any kind when I color, I don’t know how well the paper and the ink used in printing will hold up. The colored pencils were fine, though! If you would like to take pages out to hang up, be warned that there are no perforations. This seems much more of a journaling book than an art book.

I am really enjoying this coloring book, and am going to be on the lookout for more of these books by Margaret Feinberg.

 

**I was sent this copy by Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my fair and honest opinion.**

 

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Live Fearless

    1. Oh my goodness! *laughs* Thank you for stopping by my blog, and thank you SO MUCH for your beautiful work! I have been really enjoying it, and have discovered that coloring is a great way for me to just slow down and consider what the verse is telling me. I’m excited to find more of your books! Have a beautiful week!

      Like

Leave a Reply

