Posted in subscriptions

Sephora PLAY! – Box #8 (April)

Sephora PLAY! is now available all over the United States! About time, huh? All the items come in this nice box, great for storage, and placed prettily inside. It also has a booklet with it, and the “title” of this month’s box is: The It Crowd. The booklet is pretty cool, going through each of the items in the box, now giving either tips or how-to steps. In the back there are five more tips for the items, how to match them up with each other, and the Play!Pass. The Pass entitles us to one-on-one advice from someone at Sephora (which I think just comes with walking in the door, really), and if you scan the Pass when you are shopping, you are awarded a bonus 50 Beauty Insider points.

2015 09 24 Play_ box

The booklet that came with it:

2016 04 26 booklet

 

How stuff looked when I opened it (sorta…):

2016 04 26 open 2

 

MiLK Makeup Sunshine Oil: Everywhere you glow – the cool factor. This must-have from Milk Studios’ new makeup line is a citrusy blend of eight moisturizing oils for hydrating your face, body, and hair – anytime, anywhere. 

discover #generationMILK

Based in LA and New York, Milk Studios is a legendary photo studio and media company. Their debut makeup line is inspired by the behind-the-scenes style of the models and actresses who they work with, and it’s perfect for getting a chic, casual look.

Where to use: 

  • elbows
  • cuticles
  • hair
  • face
  • and anywhere else that needs a dose of hydration!

What do I think about it? It smells nice – the citrus scent is very light and not overpowering in the least. It gives my skin a nice, subtle sheen, and after about a minute there’s no greasy or oily feeling at all – and it begins to smell a bit powdery, too. 

Would I buy this at Sephora? I might, but only if they have it in something other than a rollerball pen. I can’t see myself applying this stuff to much of my body with a rollerball pen. Plus it is $38.00 for 0.5 ounces. I like the formula and am interested, but what I just mentioned are definite drawbacks for me. 

Sunday Riley Good Genes All-In-One Lactic Acid TreatmentRight on timeless – Luxurious, rich, high-performing – this coveted treatment brightens and exfoliates to visibly reduce the look of fine lines. 

 behind the brand:

Founder and former chemist Sunday Riley knows a few things about making effective products. Her eponymous line combines biotechnology and botanicals to create the most scientifically advanced, cutting-edge formulas that are de rigueur for celebrities and catwalk models.

Good chemistry – Good Genes uses lactic acid, which is known for the ability to deeply exfoliate. This star ingredient also helps to:

  • reduce the appearance of dark spots caused by blemishes
  • fade the look of hyper-pigmentation
  • create a radiant, glowing complexion

 

What do I think about it? I’ve heard so many good things about the Sunday Riley brand that I was excited to try this! The scent isn’t bad at all to me, though I can see how some might be put off by it. It sort of smells like a cross between Christian Dior face creams around 1996 and strong black tea. It’s not overpowering or anything, but I can still smell it about five minutes after I put it on my face. You definitely want to use just a little of this – it’s a case of a little goes a long way. (Which is good, as one ounce of this will set you back $105.00!) I don’t know how well it does with fading dark spots and hyper-pigmentation, but I would assume you’d need to use it longer than this small sample will let you. It does seem to succeed in the radiant, glowing complexion department, though – I do like this. 

Would I buy this at Sephora? Mmmmm, this is one of those maybe things. I might pick one up when I get one of the 15% or 20% off coupon cards. Otherwise, I don’t think I would buy it at full price. 

Clinique Pep-Start Eye CreamStay one pep ahead – Get the look of a full-night’s sleep with this hydrating and brightening on-the-go cream that refreshes the under eye area using a blend of seven peptides. Plus, it works over and under makeup. 

new and noteworthy:

Pep-Start Eye Cream is the first in a brand new skincare line from CLINIQUE. Stay tuned – more innovative Pep products are coming soon!

Sleepless beauty – Whether out late with friends, on a deadline, or just getting started at 10pm, a few swipes of Pep-Start can do wonders for tired eyes. Here are four more ways to feel wide awake and put some pep in your step.

  1. End your morning shower with a quick blast of cool water. Not only will it help wake you up, but the chill is also great for your skin and hair. 
  2. Tired, unhealthy-looking skin is often dehydrated, so be sure to avoid salty foods and drink plenty of water.
  3. Explore face massage techniques to give your skin a healthy glow and visibly decrease puffiness by helping to drain lymph nodes – plus it feels amazing!
  4. For a quick pick-me-up, keep a face mist in your purse. It’s a great way to keep your skin hydrated and looking fresh when you’re out and about.

What do I think about it? I really didn’t see any difference. When putting it on, it feels like it’s almost going to start to sting, but it doesn’t. I’m guessing that’s the peptides at work. But really, after ten minutes, my eyes looked the same. 

Would I buy this at Sephora? No, most likely not. It might work wonderfully on other people, but not on me. I know there’s been a lot of hype about this product, but it just didn’t live up to it in my case. 

NARS Satin Lip Pencil In the lip of luxury – Lustrous and modern, this creamy, vitamin-enriched pencil saturates lips in a wear-it-anywhere shade of dusty rose.  

behind the brand:

Frenchman François Nars was an in-demand runway makeup artist and photographer for years before creating his own line of cult classics, iconic shades, and revolutionary formulas that are now synonymous with NARS cosmetics.

Brilliance in bloom – From Hyde Park to Palais Royal, each of the NARS Satin Lip Pencils is named for one of ithe world’s most beautiful gardens. This shade is inspired by Rikugi-en, a metropolitan park in Tokyo.

What do I think about it? Love! I first tried NARS Lip Pencils last year, when Sephora was giving two of them away for your birthday month. Was I happy to find another one in this box! I really do like these a lot. They go on easily and evenly, and the color payoff is just right – plus it tends to stay put and doesn’t rub off within the first half hour. One question – when the tip gets down to the black part, do you sharpen it with a pencil sharpener, or is that it? I’ve tried to find the answer to this, but have turned up nothing. If you know, please share the knowledge! 🙂 

Would I buy this at Sephora? Oh HECKS yeah! It is a bit steep at $26.00, but I think they are worth it. 

Sephora Collection Colorful Cheek Ink Gel: Saved by the gel – This long-wearing gel stain goes on sheer for a natural, just-pinched flush that can be built up for a bold pop of color. 

blush up on the basics:

Give cheeks a chic rosy hue in just two steps:

  1. Using a fluffy brush, apply the gel stain – a little goes a long way! – to the parts of the cheeks you wish to accent, and then blend.
  2. Increase color to get the look you want by repeating step one (Pro tip: apply foundation between the two layers for a lit-from-within flush).

ways to wear it – Find the perfect blush look to suit your style.

  • Chic – Create a glamorous, sculpted style by applying color on the cheekbones and blending up toward the temples.
  • Sweet – Get a playful flush that softens angles by patting blush on the apples of the cheeks and working outward.
  • Sporty – Start below the apples of the cheeks and sweep color toward the middle of the ears for a healthy-looking, outdoorsy flush.

 

What do I think about it? This is very sheer. The color I received in the box, Peony, is a light pink that doesn’t show too much on my skin, even though I am fair. But – it does show enough, a very natural-type coloring. Very much a light flush, and I like that, especially for days when I’m just not going to put on all the makeup, but would like something more than just mascara and lip color. It’s a little bit sticky until it dries, about three or four minutes, but you can’t feel it afterwards. 

Would I buy this at Sephora? I’m thinking I would. It’s only $14.00, and its definitely something you can stash in a purse or beach bag. Very good for spring and summer!   

Derek Lam 10 Crosby – 2am KissScent with a kiss – Modern and intoxication, this blend of salty woods and crystallized amber channels the hip, fashion-forward style of New York City. 

What do I think about it? It’s okay. It smells like “new office building scent” to me. I don’t know how else to describe it, but that this is what I see in my mind’s eye when I smell this perfume. It’s not obnoxious or anything, but it just isn’t me. 

Would I buy this at Sephora? No, not really. 

_______________________________________________________

Not a bad box at all. Lots of things to try, and Lots of things to stash in my purse!

I’m totally wondering what May’s box will have in it!

2016 04 26 open 1

 

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

5 thoughts on “Sephora PLAY! – Box #8 (April)

    1. They still have a waitlist? Wow – I thought it was fully open now. You can always go into the store and ask for some samples from Milk – unless you’re like me and hate asking for stuff. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

