Posted in cosmetics, subscriptions

Unboxing Walmart Beauty Box: Spring “Trendsetter” Box

I was happy to see another bright yellow sunflower on the Walmart Beauty Box for springtime, this time for the Trendsetter (or under-35) box. Some of the items that came in it aren’t things I would use myself, but they’re good products. And other things that arrived I know I’ll be using!

2016 03 29 Spring Trendsette  box

First thing I know I’ll be using is the Colgate Optic White toothpaste. It’s a large travel size, so it supplies about two weeks (I’m guessing) of use. I already received one in the other beauty box and have been using it and loving it. Not that I’ve noticed the most tremendous whitening and brightening of my teeth – but then again I drink a lot of coffee and Diet Coke! I do think it’s whitened them some, though, and I like the way it cleans and leaves my teeth feeling smooth and my breath fresh.

After eating out at so many different restaurants for five days this past weekend, both Hims and I could feel it in our bodies and see it on our complexions. My skin care routine headed off most of the complexion damage for me, but Hims is a guy – he usually just washes his face in the shower with Dial. I handed him the Bioré Free Your Pores baking soda cleanser, and after only a couple days it’s really worked its magic. I didn’t hand it over to him for the purpose of this blog, though he joked that this was my ulterior motive. But it has worked so well I wanted to mention it here.

Even though it’s still in the 30s and 40s here this week – and it freakin’ snowed!!! yesterday – warmer weather and summertime is around the corner. That means that at some point I will be a doofus and get some sort of sunburn somewhere on my body. Usually my shoulders or upper arms. If it’s light, it will itch. And itch. And drive me nuts with itching. I am hanging on to the Curél Itch Defense Body Wash for that time. Or I might use it later today for my back, since it’s itchy right now, thanks to dry air from the heater. Grrr!

I lovelovelove Burt’s Bees things! So yes, I was totally happy to receive a little tester of BB Cream from them in this box. As disappointed as I was in the Laneige BB Cream, I won’t give up on the stuff.

I’ve heard a lot of good things about Jergens Natural Glow moisturizer, and I don’t doubt they are well-earned. I just don’t care for it that much. I’ve tried it when it’s been sent to me previously, and to be honest, I’m a bit nervous when it comes to any type of self-tanner, self-coloring, anything. It’s probably paranoia lingering from my orange QT Tan fiasco in the 80s, but I’m not ready to try it for real color yet! This will be going into a giveaway. (Which will be happening soon!)

The CeraVe Healing Ointment is nice – no smell, it’s really not greasy, and it seems to be absorbed into the skin quickly. I’ll keep this around in one of the first aid kits for when it’s needed.

Oooh! I really love the John Freida subtle color line. I’ve used it a few times before and would have been ecstatic to find this in my box… except that I’m blonde. I received “Brilliant Brunette”. This will be going in a giveaway, too, and I can say it’s a good product!

Yay for Walmart! You are stepping up your game on these boxes, and it’s appreciated. As always, more makeup would be welcome, but this season there’s really nothing to complain about! If you would like to try for one of the spring boxes, or get on the list for the summer boxes, just go here to sign up. It’s free, but they do charge $5.00 for shipping and handling.  They do vary with what comes in them, too. I think they use a supply of samples until they run out, and then go to the next supply – so you could see that I have the Bioré, but when you get it, you might have a pot of Vaseline Intensive Care. It’s part of the fun!

 

 

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

Leave a Reply

