Posted in subscriptions

Unboxing Walmart Beauty Box: Spring “Classic” Box

After a year or so of just meh boxes (in my opinion) for those who signed up later, Walmart seems to be getting better at the subscription box game. The box itself this time is really pretty – sunflowers! Who doesn’t feel a smile tugging at the corners of their mouth when they see bright yellow flowers?

I’ve noticed they’ve named the boxes now, too. The “under 35” box is now the “Trendsetter” box, and the “over 35” box is the “Classic” box. I’m guessing they got tired of people referring to the “Old Lady Box” in reviews, because I know I wasn’t the only one – I got it from others!

2016 03 29 Spring Classic box

Usually these boxes come with a plethora of coupons and a few paper ads, but this one only had one coupon included. Not sure if that makes me happy or disappointed!

Inside the box was a large-ish travel size of Jergens Wet Skin Moisturizer. I’ve had this in boxes before, and after trying it out I decided I like it. Enough to go buy it? Well, maybe not, but that’s just because I already have a ton of moisturizer all over my house. This will go in the Infamous Give-Away Drawer.

Next I pulled out Curél Rough Skin Rescue lotion. The tube says it “gently loosens flakes for superior moisturization”. Sort of sounds like something you’d want to wash off, I know. But I’ve tried it a couple times since it arrived, and it really does work well. This goes in my purse!

Ahah! A cosmetic item! In the past, the “Classic” box was notorious for not including makeup items. They sent a lot of shampoo and moisturizer, and the occasional Rogaine or Gray-Away coupon, but nothing fun. That was a huge complaint I saw repeated across the ‘Net. I think someone finally got the message! This is a Neutrogena Moisture Smooth Color Stick in Pink Grapefruit. It goes on very smoothly and does feel moisturizing. I do have to warn people, though: it smells like grapefruit. That’s not bad, unless you hate the smell of grapefruit! I don’t mind it, personally, so I’ll definitely use this.

Summer is on its way! I received a tube of this last year, too – Banana Boat Sun Comfort SPF 30. I like it! The scent is barely-there, it’s handy to toss in your purse of bag for a day out, and I know Banana Boat is a good, reliable company.

This next one is interesting: Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser. I’ve been curious about this after seeing a bazillion commercials for it, so I’m glad I have the chance to try it out. After using Korean products for so long, the Cetaphil feels a little odd to me. It doesn’t foam, it’s not an oil, it isn’t warm. It’s like putting a very thin lotion on your face and then rinsing it off. That’s not a bad thing! And it is definitely gentle on your skin. If you have problems with sensitive skin, or if you forgot your sunblock and got a bit of a burn on your face, this would be the perfect cleanser for you.

Yay! I finally got a sample of RoC! Another thing I’ve wanted to try for ages. This is a very small tube of their Multi-Correxion 5 in 1 Chest, Neck and Face Cream. (Whew…) It claims to visibly smooth fine lines on the chest and neck in four weeks. This sample *might* last me four days if I used it as directed. I’ll definitely give it a try, but I’m really pretty hooked on my Korean balms and products from Valentia and OZ Naturals right now.

Last but not least, I received a tube of Colgate OpticWhite Platinum toothpaste. I think I had a tube of this ages ago and liked it, though I usually opt for Crest. I’ll definitely use this tube!

If you would like to try out a bunch of different products Walmart offers, this is a good deal for you: for $5.00 shipping charge, you receive a box tailored to your age range (I order both) about once every three months. They include perfume testers, toothpaste and mouthwash, lotions, lipstick or mascara, and usually a bunch of manufacturer coupons. Sometimes you even get full size items in there, too – not bad at all for the price! Just follow this link to order your own Walmart Beauty Box!

 

 

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

4 thoughts on “Unboxing Walmart Beauty Box: Spring “Classic” Box

    1. Go grab one! They should still be sendoung out the Spring ones. They don’t always have the same things in the boxes, though – it’s like if they run out of something they will go on to the next sample on the list. And since most of the coupons are manufacturer coupons, you can use them anywhere else if you aren’t at a Walmart.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

