Posted in cosmetics, subscriptions

Sephora PLAY! – Box #7 (March)

Sephora PLAY! is currently only out in certain cities of the United States. All the items come in this nice box, great for storage, and placed prettily inside. It also has a booklet with it, and the “title” of this month’s box is: The Perfection Collection. Which makes me think of confections. Which makes me hungry. Good grief. 🙂  The booklet is pretty cool, going through each of the items in the box, now giving either tips or how-to steps. In the back there are five more tips for the items, how to match them up with each other, and the Play!Pass. The Pass entitles us to one-on-one advice from someone at Sephora (which I think just comes with walking in the door, really), and if you scan the Pass when you are shopping, you are awarded a bonus 50 Beauty Insider points.

2015 09 24 Play_ box

The booklet that came with it:

2016 03 24 Sephora Paly booklet

 

How stuff looked when I opened it (sorta…):

2016 03 24 Sephora Play inside

 

 

 

Murad Invisiblur Perfecting Shield Broad Spectrum SPF 30: Have it blur way – This silky-smooth, innovative sunscreen protects your skin with broad spectrum SPF 30 while also miltitasking as a moisturizer and primer

        about the brand

Murad’s funder, Dr. Howard Murad, is a world-class dermatologist, pharmacist, and professor of medicine who is also involved in innovative scientific research and the author of books on aging, health, and skincare.

pro tip

Invisiblur isn’t your average SPF: it also works to visibly blur the appearance of imperfections. Apply it under your makeup or wear it on its own – either was, it’s like having an Instagram filter for your face!

What do I think about it? After I finally got some out of the pump – seriously, it took me like four minutes just to do that! – I got to try it. It goes on almost like a silicone gel, very smooth and silky, but until it completely sets (because it doesn’t feel wet as much as not-yet-set) you can tell you have something on your face. I think it does tend to blur imperfections, but as I know where mine are, I could still pick them out easily. The scent is nice, though it took me a momet to realize what it reminded me of. Ahah! It actually smells like sunblock, and kept bringing images of last summer at the pool to my mind. Not complaining! 

Would I buy this at Sephora? I really don’t know, but I doubt it. I already have a ton of SPF things, and this costs $65.00 for one ounce. The thing is – would I really use it that often? Yes, you can use it under makeup or just on its own, which I love. But would I really use it, or would it sit in my bathroom? 

fresh Soy Face CleanserYour Pride and Soy – Gentle yet also effective at removing makeup, this soothing gel cleanser is refreshing and ideal for sensitive skin. 

         meet the ingredients – All skin types can benefit from the botanicals and plant-based ingredients that this product uses to cleanse and nurture:

Soy Proteins: Are known to help keep skin supple

Rosewater: Aids in balancing for an even skintone

Cucumber Extract: Visually soothes and calms

What do I think about it? I have liked all the fresh products I’ve tried so far, and this was no exception. It smells of cucumber, so if you don’t like that, be warned. It’s a very nice, gentle cleanser that seems to remove makeup easily, though I haven’t tried it on my eyes. (I have a Thing about that, and will only use specific eye makeup remover pads or washes.) My skin felt soft and calm after using it. So yes – I liked this fresh product as well!

Would I buy this at Sephora? Yeps! Although it’s a bit on the pricey side for twice-a-day use, I think… but then, this is the only face I’ve got. 🙂  

Sephora Collection: The Perfectionist: Airbrush SpongeThe beginning of the blend – Use this double-ended blending sponge to get into small facial curves and contours for completely even makeup application. 

         Get the best blend – From foundation to bronzer, this airbrush sponge works wonders on a variety of complexion products. Follow these three steps to get precise application and the best finish.

Dampen: Get the sponge slightly wet – this will prevent too much product from soaking into it.

Bounce: Don’t brush or swipe. Instead, use a stippling motion to pat on product for natural-looking coverage.

Blend: To get a perfect finish, stipple and blend with the side of the sponge that doesn’t have any product.

What do I think about it? It’s soft. It feels like the perfect size, at least for how I use it. It does seem to help with the coverage and all, but I don’t profess to be an expert at that! 🙂 

Would I buy this at Sephora? Yes, I probably will. It’s a lot cheaper than the Beauty Blender sponges, and I’ve heard the Beauty Blenders can be kind of hard and solid. (Whether that’s true all the time, I don’t know – I don’t use them… usually just a brush or my fingers!) I do like this, though, and I would love to add it to my arsenal of beauty weaponry!      

Smashbox Photo Finish Primer Oil All in good prime – Prime your face for makeup with this luxurious oil, which absorbs quickly and adds radiance for a visibly smoother, camera-ready complexion. 

         tricks for the perfect selfie – Go filter-free: using a high-performing primer like this oil is the first step to snapping a cute photo. Take your selfies tot he next level with these five pro photographer tips.

Turn on the Shine: If you’re in dull light, brighten things up by swiping on a little highlighter

Get Moving: Stand in front of a fan to create hair with volume and drama

Play with Shadows: Make sure light is shining from behind the camera so you’re not backlit

Know the Pose: Capture your most flattering angle by holding the phone at a 45-degree tilt (Note from me: a 45° angle from… what? The floor? Your face? Side to side or back and forth? Sorry, but this had me totally confused.) 

Compare and Coordinate: Choose a background with colors that compliment what you’re wearing

What do I think about it? This came in an Ipsy glam bag not too long ago. I liked it then, and I still do, though it’s not really something I would use daily. I like the scent, it absorbs rather quickly, and it does leave my skin feeling all nice and satiny, which I would think might help foundation glide on easily. I do know Smashbox is a good company with really great products!

Would I buy this at Sephora? Mmmm, maybe, maybe not. I think the Murad would actually be higher on my purchase list than this, though I could see using the Smashbox for photos and all, definitely. But would I need a bottle of the stuff? Maybe after I use up the samples!  

Kat Von D Tattoo Liner in Trooper: Ink outside the lines – This waterproof brush-tip liquid liner glides on to reveal precise, bold strokes of highly pigmented color. 

         Go for faux – This eyeliner’s incredible brush tip is great for getting an intense line – and more. One of the artist and founder Kat Von D’s favorite makeup hacks is using it to draw temporary tattoos. Follow these three steps to create your own wash-away body art.

Sketch: Using a grey or brown pencil eyeliner, outline the design you want on clean, dry skin.

Fill: Add color by filling in the lines with tattoo Liner (use a Q-tip dabbed in argan oil to wipe away any mistakes).

Set: After the liner has dried completely, help it last by dusting it with a translucent setting powder.

What do I think about it? Of all the brush tips, felt tips, and funky-type tips I’ve tried for liquid eyeliner, this one I just love. I think I might still prefer pencil eyeliner, but this is right right right behind it! So easy to use, very thin lines that I can build on, or by using the side of the brush I can immediately have a thicker line. It does stay on and last, too! 

Would I buy this at Sephora? Oh hecks yeah! I might wind up purchasing it in the next week or two, actually! And for only $19.00? That’s great.    

 

Maison Martin Margiela “Replica” – Beach WalkSea to it – Transport yourself to sandy seaside memories with this radiant scent of bergamot, coconut milk, and lemon. 

What do I think about it? Maybe it’s because I lived right on the Pacific Ocean for so many years, but this doesn’t smell like that to me. Like at all. It smells instead like I’m shopping in the mall. It sort of smells like Torrid at the Dayton Mall used to, but it also smells like the Sunrise Mall in Massapequa, New York, did in the late 80s.  It’s not a bad smell by any means, but it makes me want to look for cute tops and then go find the Auntie Anne’s. 

Would I buy this at Sephora? No, although I’d be interested in checking out their other scents. 

_______________________________________________________

There is something missing from my box this month, too. They were supposed to include an empty sample jar (they aren’t really “jars” so much as single-contact-lens holders!) for us to take with us to the store. In it was to go the sample of the foundation we would be color-matched with. I know it’s not a big deal, but it’s kind of a flub. **Edit – I found it. It’s a teensy little clear plastic thing that eluded me the four times I dug through all the paper worm thingies.***      

Other than that, this was a pretty fair box. Not the best, but not bad at all. Lots of things to try, and one thing I am already in love with – Kat Von D’s Tattoo Liner! For the first product of her line that I’ve tried, it’s gone a long way to winning me over.

Now to see what all April delivers to my doorstep! 🙂

 

 

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

3 thoughts on “Sephora PLAY! – Box #7 (March)

Leave a Reply

