Posted in Ipsy haul

March’s Ipsy Haul!

This month’s Ipsy theme is Hello, Spring. Sort of like Hello, Kitty! Only… well, I’d have been much happier with a bag of Hello Kitty cosmetics. At least spring is here!

2016 03 15 March items bag

 

This month I didn’t just grimace when I saw my sneak peek for my bag – I howled. In outrage. See, one of the special items they were sending out was a liquid eyeliner by cult favorite Illamasqua. Ohhh, how I love my Illamasqua! I even have some of their polish on my nails right now as I type. But would I get that? Nope. Not that lucky. I do like the bag, though. For some weird reason the colors kind of speak to me. And now, for what came inside… 

The lipstick is: NYX Liquid Suede Lipstick . This was one of the special things everyone received in their bags this month. It could have been IT Cosmetics Bye Bye Under Eye, NUDESTIX Lip + Cheek Pencil, Make Up For Ever Step 1 Primer, ColourPop eye shadow, Illamasqua Precision Ink liquid liner, or this from NYX. Yes, I had really been hoping for the Illamasqua. I didn’t want anything else but that Illamasqua. When I learned I was receiving this instead, I was disappointed, to say the least. (But the fact Illamasqua is now shipping to the USA quelled that a bit!) The choices Ipsy had to send each of us in the NYX were a nice neutral red (Kitten Heels), a soft pinkish-brown (Soft-Spoken), or… this, called Pink Lust. I kid you not – when I first glanced at the name of the lipstick, I swore it said “Pink Slut”. *blinks* Really. I kind of wondered if Ipsy thinks my full time job is being a streetwalker. (And believe me, this lipstick looks a lot louder in person, at least to me.) Now, I have filled out their survey, and even updated a couple things about three months ago. I know they know my hair color, my complexion, my eye color. I know they know my preferences in things. And yes, I’ve received a few bright colors from them in the past and they worked – but nothing that I could use in place of safety paint on an airplane.

This is still in the plastic wrap. While I do like NYX, and I do love lipsticks, I’m not a fan of matte, and I see no reason to waste this by opening it. I know it’s got to be a great color for lots of people, but just not for me.

credit: NYX Cosmetics

The eye shadow is: Manna Kadar Fantasy 3-in-1. At first I thought this was just another eye shadow, but looking at the website, I see it’s actually used as a blush, highlighter, or eye shadow – whichever one you’d like. It’s a nice color, and it does seem to have a bit of a shimmer to it. I haven’t opened this one, either, because Ipsy keeps sending me eye shadows in this shade. I already have eye shadows this shade that I’ve bought for myself in palettes, too. I really don’t need another one. Could I use it for a blush? Not really – this tan color won’t work well with my complexion, and the same goes for using it as a highlighter. Again, something that would work great for someone else, but not for me.

The nail buffer is: Margaret Dabbs London Super Shiner Buffer. Yesterday, I was thinking I wouldn’t open this and use it, either. I have a buffer already. But then I started reading the information on the Margaret Dabbs website and decided to give this a try. After all – who couldn’t use another nail thingie? So I just tried it right now, and it’s good. Not great, but it does the job on the nails that aren’t too dry. I would have much preferred some nail polish, though.

The blush is: Pixi by Petra Beauty Blush Duo in Rose Gold. Oh, dear – another item left unopened. On the Pixi website, this is shown as being paired with a kabuki brush. That would have been cool! As it is, I already have a couple blushes I use, and they are about the same shade as this. I’m also not really a fan of split pans – I want to have more control over which color goes where. The only exception I’ve made to this were the blushes by Korres. I have nothing against Pixi – I like what I’ve tried of theirs so far. I’m sure this is a great product, too – but another thing I see no sense wasting by opening it up and testing it once.

2016 03 15 March items

 

The hair cream is: Marc Anthony Nourishing Argan Oil of Morocco 3 Day Smooth Perfect Blow Dry Cream. Oh, cool, I thought, it’s another Marc Anthony product. I’ve had good luck with those so far. Oh no, I then thought, this isn’t for me. While my hair might curl up if I cut it (it’s currently to the middle of my back), it only gets a little wavy now when I let it air dry. Which is pretty much 99% of the time. I just don’t really use my blow drier unless the temperature outside is below freezing and I need to leave, or I waited too long before weigh in and need to get rid of the water in my hair – because extra ounces! My hair doesn’t frizz up, either. The ends got crunchy from all the swimming I did last summer, but that’s remedied by a trim. Another product I’m sure is great, but nothing I would use.


Then, of course, there’s Dexter. For a cat who hates having cold paws, he sure does insist on jumping into the freezer the moment you turn your back. And sometimes he doesn’t even wait for that!

2016 03 15 Dexter in the Freezer

 

Okay, so ouch. Ipsy did a total fail on this bag. A nail treatment or nail polish instead of the buffer would have been nice. Or even just nix the buffer altogether and add in the kabuki brush from Pixi. (Though that might have been counted as two items from the same place.) The rest of these are going into my giveaway drawer – unopened, of course. I think I’ll do the giveaway when I reach 200 followers. Hey – I’m at 169 as of this posting! Or maybe I’ll do a small one for some silly reason, and a larger one for 200? To be honest, I never thought I’d get this many of you reading me. Thank you bunches!

And… if you’d like to try these wonderful glam bags, too, here’s the link to get you started: Get Started With Ipsy! It’s only $10 a month, and no commitment! And they really do get it right much more often than not! 🙂

 

 

 

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

2 thoughts on “March’s Ipsy Haul!

Leave a Reply

