Posted in cosmetics, makeup, subscriptions

Sephora PLAY! – Box #6 (February)

Sephora PLAY! is currently only out in Houston and Dallas, TX, Boston, MA, and the Cincinnati/Columbus area of Ohio. There might be a couple more areas now, but I’m not sure. All the items come in this nice box, great for storage, and placed prettily inside. It also has a booklet with it, and the “title” of this month’s box is: Now & Later. Isn’t there a candy by that name? The booklet is pretty cool, going through each of the items in the box, now giving either tips or how-to steps. In the back there are five more tips for the items, how to match them up with each other, and the Play!Pass. The Pass entitles us to one-on-one advice from someone at Sephora (which I think just comes with walking in the door, really), and if you scan the Pass when you are shopping, you are awarded a bonus 50 Beauty Insider points.

2015 09 24 Play_ box

The booklet that came with it:

2016 02 23 booklet

 

How stuff looked when I opened it:

2016 02 23 full box

 

And the two lip colors that came inside:

2016 02 23 lips

 

bareMinerals Pop of Passion Lip Oil-Balm in Plumberry Pop: Give lips a plums up just in time. This luxurious lip oil-balm nurtures and hydrates while providing vibrant color and shine. 

about the ingredients

 

Pop of Passion is made with passiflora edulis seed oil, which is also known as maracuja oil. This vitamin-rich elixir comes from passion fruit, and  is adored by skincare gurus and beauty junkies for its incredible antiaging and moisturizing properties.

What do I think about it? Oooh! I would never have picked this up in the store, but so so glad to try it! It goes on “like buttah” and the color is a lot more sheer than it looks in the tube. So where I thought it was going to be way too dark for just everyday use, I was pleasantly surprised. Great color, great feel, really liking this stuff. 

Would I buy this at Sephora? I would – but it’s $16.00. That’s really a bit more than I would normally pay for a lip balm. I like this a whole lot, but it’s one of those items I might throw in my basket to boost my purchase total to a certain amount. (Like for free shipping or something like that.) 

Lancôme Drama Liqui-Pencil Longwear Eyeliner in Noir Intense: Up to Noir Good. Just in time. Get staying power with this easy-to-blend pencil that sets quickly for intense color that lasts – and lasts.

Ways To Wear It

Learn how to give an everyday liner look some evening drama with a few swipes.  

For A.M. – Kitten flick. This shorter version of a cat eye has just a hint of retro. Draw a thin line across your upper lids and complete each with a tiny tail that points to the end of your brow.

For P.M. – Jet wing. Enhance your kitten flick with a sweeping wing to transition to evening. Just mark the points where you want to extend, then connect and fill with liner.

What do I think about it? I haven’t had much chance to use anything by Lancôme, but I do know it’s been a good brand for years. This pencil is wonderful, I think – it goes on very easily with absolutely no tugging that I noticed. It blends well. And it seems to have some good staying power. too. 

Would I buy this at Sephora? This is on the list of possible future eyeliners! So yes, I would buy this at Sephora… unless there is a gift promotion for Lancôme in one of the department stores. Hey – more free stuff? Why, thank you! I think I shall. 

Bumble and bumble Prêt-à-powderOn a powder trip. Just in time. This all-in-one powder acts as a dry shampoo, volumizer, and style extender by absorbing oil and adding lift to hair. 

One powder, three powers – Discover three ways this powder can be used to keep your hairstyles going around the clock.

A Post-Gym Root Rescue: Apply at the roots, and then use your hands to massage more powder into spots where hair is particularly oily.

For An Anytime Volume Boost: First add at roots for grip and grit. Tousle to remove excess, lift with fingers until you have desired height, and set with hair spray.

To Make Your Style An All-Nighter: Just after blow-drying, shake powder gently at the roots, then comb to distribute evenly.

What do I think about it? This stuff smells delicious. This stuff is also ultra-messy. I like that the scent isn’t overpowering in the least – it smells wonderful, but it’s not battling with your perfume when you use it. I didn’t see too much of a difference with my hair, either. 

Would I buy this at Sephora? Not really. It needs a different way to be dispensed, and it didn’t seem to do very much or last very long. 

Make Up For Ever Rouge Artist Natural in N9 Copper Pink Lip, lip, Hooray. Just in time. Creamy lipstick provides lasting coverage and moisture in a universally flattering neutral shade.   

Be a smart mouth – Four tips to follow for beautiful lips all day and night.

Protect Yourself: Sunscreen isn’t just for the face and body. Remember to cover you lips with an SPF and reapply throughout the day.

Keep It Subtle: Keep a wearable color like this lipstick handy in your purse. Since it’s a versatile shade, it works with any look, from desk to date night.

Smile Stain-Free: To keep lip color off your teeth, put your index finger in your mouth and close your lips around it. Pull your finger straight out to remove any product inside your lips.

Brush It Off: To keep lips soft and supple, give them a gentle massage at night with a scrub or exfoliator.

What do I think about it? I got the birthday gift a couple years ago with a sample size of some Make Up For Ever lipstick in it, and I really did like the lipstick. This one is no different. Great formula, though this color is a wee bit on the orange side for my complexion. (Yes, I am being finicky!) 

Would I buy this at Sephora? Yes, I probably would, in a different shade, of course. It’s $20.00, and it does last a bit on your lips, so it’s not a waste of money. 

Top is bareMinerals, and bottom is Make Up For Ever.
Top is bareMinerals, and bottom is Make Up For Ever.

tarte Lights, Camera, Lashes 4-in-1 Mascara: Every Lash Detail. Just in time. A few coats of this bestselling mascara are all that’s needed to lengthen, curl, volumize, and condition lashes. 

Dos and don’ts for a fabulous flutter – Turn your mascara into a magic wand with these tips and reminders.

Do… Go Smudge-Free: Avoid smears by looking down into a mirror when you apply mascara, and always apply it after eyeshadow and eyeliner.

Don’t… Post-Curl: Never use a lash curler after you’ve applied mascara. Not only can it cause clumps, but it can also damage your lashes. Yikes!

Do… Add Some Heat: Before applying, roll mascara between your palms for a minute or two – a little warmth makes the formula go on more smoothly.

Don’t… Speed Things Along: The eye area is delicate, so be gentle and take your time when you remove mascara to help minimize lash loss, fine lines, and wrinkles.

What do I think about it? I tried this mascara by tarte about a year ago. I liked it, but my personal preference at this time runs towards Benefit’s Roller Lash. (I know, I know – either you love that one or you hate it. I am in the former group.) But I do think it’s a great product. 

Would I buy this at Sephora? I might sometime in the future. I lovelovelove tarte products, but as I said, I’ve already got my favorite mascara. 

Tom Ford Black OrchidA Scent in the Dark. Just in time. This sensual fragrance features decadent accords of sultry woods, rich fruit, and the rare, custom-grown black orchid. 

 

What do I think about it? Yick. It smells like Very Serious Office Manager Lady, the one who has been in the same job for 30 years because they won’t promote her. The one you can smell coming up behind you to stare over your shoulder, checking on what you’re doing and opening her mouth to micro-manage you. Okay, so maybe that’s a bit extreme… but I just didn’t like this scent. 

Would I buy this at Sephora? Noooo. No way, no how. I have better uses for $115.00, especially at Sephora. 

_______________________________________________________

A so-so box. Not that I can complain! I like the lip colors and the eyeliner. Now let’s see what they send in March’s box! 

 

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

5 thoughts on “Sephora PLAY! – Box #6 (February)

Leave a Reply

