Posted in cosmetics, Ipsy haul

February’s Ipsy Haul!

This month’s Ipsy theme is Pretty in Pink, which I love. Oh, wait – why? Because Hims and I had a special Valentine’s Day date to go see the 30th Anniversary showing of John Waters’s Pretty In Pink on the 14th. I’d never got to see it in the theater, and he’d not seen the whole movie – only snippets. (With that revelation a friend cried out “Whaaaaaa??? You’re kidding, right?”)

2016 02 23 February items

 

When I looked at the sneak peek Ipsy always sends out, I grimaced. The only things I was even remotely liking were the Luxie brush and the bag – as long as the bag didn’t turn out to be icky in reals. Guess what? I was pleasantly surprised about all of it!  And now, for what came inside… 

The hand lotion is: MOR Emporium Classics Hand & Body Lotion . This little tube came in a flavor called “candied vanilla”. I grit my teeth – usually “candied” anything is going to be too sickly sweet for me to deal with. I opened the tube and braved a sniff, and oooh! I really like the way it smells. Not too sweet whatsoever. It’s not greasy, and it absorbs quickly, leaving my hands nice and smooth and feeling really good. Definitely one for the purse or for right here at my desk, where I can get a nice boost of scent while I’m working.

The eye shadow is: Naked Cosmetics Mica Pigment. We were either going to get Sierra Nevada #02 (champagne, shimmering nude) or Sierra Nevada #05 (espresso brown) – happily, I received #05! (Dexter liked it immediately. He batted at it while I wasn’t looking and sent it flying off the table and into the middle of the room.) I tried tapping it down off the lid when I opened it, but WARNING: this stuff is messy. That being said, I really liked it. It goes on very smoothly, and whooo – talk about a color payoff! The color is good for me, too.

2016 02 23 February swatch

The cosmetic brush is: Luxie Beauty Flat Definer Brush 221. Oh, please – like I can never have too many brushes! And I’ve totally needed something for my bottom lash line – woot! Considering this cute little pink item retails for $12.00, it pays for this month’s Ipsy bag by itself. 🙂

The primer oil is: Smashbox Cosmetics Photo Finish Primer Oil. I so love Smashbox, but dang, their trial sizes are always so dinky! I haven’t tried this on my face yet, but on the back of my hand it absorbed quickly, smelled faintly of mint and eucalyptus (or that’s what it seemed like it was to me), and left the skin very smooth and satiny. It’s $42.00 for the full size, and I’m unsure if I would pay that or not. I’d really have to look into this compared to other similar products – though at least I know Smashbox is good!

2016 02 23 February items single

The perfume is: Jor’el Parker – Eau So Divine. I have to admit, the first sample from Jor’el Parker wasn’t really what I look for in a scent. It wasn’t bad at all – just a few ticks off my style. This, however? I really like this. It’s something I would pop in my purse for a refreshing swoop of scent during the day – or night! Their website says: “Experience the purifying powers of sandalwood, the age-defying glow of grapefruit, and the sensual warmth of Egyptian myrrh.” I say it just smells like a soft smile, a warm day, and water lapping at my toes.


Then, of course, there’s Dexter. Dexter has to know what everyone is doing at all times.

2016 02 23 February Dexter

Okay, so the real thing turned out to be much better than what I thought when I saw the sneak peeks – good! Next month… ohhhh, March. There’s a chance to get something from one of my all-time favorite companies, Illamasqua! I’ve got half a dozen nail polishes from them (before Sephora stopped carrying the brand), and would be in makeup heaven if I got that sample in my March bag. And if you’d like to try these wonderful glam bags, too, here’s the link to get you started: Get Started With Ipsy! It’s only $10 a month, and no commitment!

And again with Dexter… who felt as though the brush needed to be moved over just a tad. Gotta love ’em!

2016 02 23 February Dexter 2

 

 

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

10 thoughts on “February’s Ipsy Haul!

  1. Our bags were soooo different. The only things in common were the Smashbox Primer and the Naked Pigment Eyeshadow. I didn’t get a perfume but I did get a pink nail polish from Trust Fund. I agree 100% about the Naked Pigment. I didn’t get the brush either, I got an acrylic nail file, which I LOVE. I’m trying to think what I got in lieu of the hand lotion too…. Hmmm, escapes me right now.

    Like

      1. Oh no. I’ve been with Ipsy for about a year now. I’m not overly impressed with Trust Fund because three days in and the tips are chipping like crazy. But it looked good prior to the chipping! LOL

        Like

Leave a Reply

