Posted in cosmetics, shopping

Brrr!

Hello, everyone!

It is 6° outside. There are huge icicles the length of my windows stretching towards the ground. The cats have taken to hibernating in the closets (Alanis in the bedroom, unless she’s right next to my feet – and the heat register, and Dexter either on top of my computer tower or tucked away inside the linen closet, nested in the fluffy towels).

The heater has been on consistently since last week, which means dry skin. Yuck. For some reason, my left elbow, of all things, has really become dry. It’s even felt like it’s cracked. No good! So even as I wasn’t so thrilled with receiving the small trial version of Aveeno lotion in one of my latest Ipsy bags, I’ve been using it during the day on my poor elbow. At night, I’ve been using Nivea Soft and Tallowderm. What an improvement!

My lips have been drying out, too. So far I’ve kept them from getting chapped by using my good ole standby: Burt’s Bees. I lovelovelove Burt’s Bees! My favorites have got to be the honey lip balm and the ultra-conditioning lip balm with kokum butter. Okay, not that I really know what kokum butter is, but it sure works!

I’ll admit, I’ve been lax the past couple weeks with my skincare regimen. No reasons why, really, other than winter just always gets me a bit down. I’ve begun really getting back into it, and am soooo grateful for the TonyMoly sheet masks! (And grateful to Elizabeth at Everything & Nothin’ for posting about the Amazon deal!) In fact, after I finish writing this post, I’m going to moosh one on my face for half an hour. Mmm, that sounds so good.

For munchies, I’ve been all about the Honeycrisp apples and the Cuties clementines. Seriously, I’ve been chomping on one apple and four clementines while Hims and I watch DVDs at night before bed. It satisfies my tv-watching cravings as well as my sweet-tooth. I’ve also been in love with Wasa Crisp’n Light 7 Grain crackerbreads. I already liked the “thicker” ones, but these are just perfect! I put some shredded cheese on two of them, then top them off with two thin slices of Trader Joe’s Natural Turkey Summer Sausage. Yum! Nice, light, and light on the SmartPoints, and fills me up.

At least the sun is out today, even though we’re expecting three to five inches of snow on Monday. Again. Yuck. I know I’m not the only one waiting for springtime!

2016 02 11 Icicles
Oh, yeah – I collect piggy banks. 🙂

 

 

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

Leave a Reply

