Posted in clothes, family

My “What I Got For Christmas” Post

I figured because we are taking down all the Christmas decorations this weekend, it was time for me to do this post. Especially since I’ve been wanting to write it for a couple weeks now!

December was very temperate, about which I certainly didn’t complain. It was so nice outside that Hims and I went to one of the shopping centers on the 22nd and spent a nice afternoon walking around in the sunshine. In November, I’d seen the mall maintenance putting together the Christmas tree they display in the park area in the center. I love how it looked finished!

2015 12 22 Greene

Yes, that’s me in front of it…

2015 12 22 Greene me CU

Of course, we had our own tree at home. Actually, this was the first year since 2011 that we had it up, for various reasons. It felt good to really decorate the house again!

The Tree

Yes, there is a wreath on the curtain rod, too. We have one outside on the door, but this one – though it can be used outside – is just too nice to risk it to the elements. The tree skirt is all mooshed up because… cats. ‘Nuff said. On the funky IKEA crate thing are the three lighthouses so far in the Hallmark series, and two light-up churches from the 1990s we picked up at a Christmas bazaar at the neighborhood Lutheran church. I love little light-up things like that… they remind me of the childhood fascination I had for my Mom’s best friend’s Christmas village.

Oh, yes – and that most certainly is Hello Kitty at the top of the tree.

Our first Christmas together, in 2011, we found this Hello Kitty at Cracker Barrel. Later on, when we were putting together the tree for the first time, we realized we didn’t have anything for a tree topper. I don’t remember whose idea it was to put the doll up there, but that’s her official place now.

2015 Hello Kitty Tree Topper

And now for what Hims gave me for Christmas…

All the clothes came from Torrid, and its very existence I am thankful for on an almost daily basis! I love their clothes! So when I saw the Doctor Who line showing up for a limited time and online only, I had to show Hims. These two I actually knew ahead of time I was getting, because he told me to go ahead and order them, but he then wrapped them up for Christmas before I’d even seen them.

2015 Doctor Who sweater frame

A big, warm cardigan, and a soft tee shirt with a great graphic on it!

2015 Doctor Who teeshirt frame

Last year, I bought a cardigan made in the same pattern as the Doctor Who one above, but it had skulls and decorative bands on it. I’ve received a ton of compliments on that cardigan! I wasn’t too surprised to see it back in the stores this year – and was happy when I saw they had these really cozy leggings that totally match it, too! I tried them on in October I think it was, but decided against them because I figured there was no reason to spend the money when we were getting a couple other things I needed. I guess Hims decided I really did need the leggings after all!

2015 Skull leggings frame

How cool are they?

And then to go with the skull theme, he bought me this sweater, which I absolutely adore.

2015 Skull sweater

That’s Alanis, my 19 year old cat, helping me out with the placement of the sweater. She also likes to help me cook, clean the house, and wash my face while I’m asleep.

Now, for the rest of the things he bought me – he totally spoils me!

Stuffages

The blue book is a little journal, something to encourage my writing, he said. The first book is The Silent Governess by Julie Klassen. It was paired with The Girl in the Gatehouse by Klassen, but he didn’t realize I already had that novel. I was reading it at the time he bought the books, so when he went to the shelf to take a snap with his phone (to make sure he didn’t get a duplicate!) it wasn’t there. He brought it over to his Mom a couple days later – hope she likes it!

The second book is Ghost Files by Jason Hawes and Grant Wilson from “Ghost Hunters”. I am nuts about this stuff! I had just been reading Destination Truth: Memoirs of a Monster Hunter by Josh Gates (Syfy’s “Destination: Truth” and The Travel Channel’s “Expedition Unknown”), and Hims bought me I Am Haunted by Zak Bagans (Travel Channel’s “Ghost Adventures”) for my birthday last year. This is definitely the one I’m reading after I finish The Silent Governess!

The two DVDs are Cedar Cove: First Season and Cedar Cove: Second Season based on the best-selling series of Cedar Cove books by Debbie Macomber. Back when I was working front desk at a hotel, a lady came to check in, fresh off her late-night flight. We chatted a bit while I was checking her in, and she saw the book I had near the computer. Seeing I was almost finished with it, she dug in her purse and pulled out a paperback copy of 16 Lighthouse Road, the first in the series. I thanked her, and said I really don’t read romance novels. She laughed and told me she didn’t either, but a lady at an airport a week before had offered it to her, telling her that even if she didn’t like romances, she’d like this one. And she did! So she passed it onto me, and I figured it couldn’t hurt anything to give it a go. Obviously I liked it! They are really not what you’d consider “romance novels” – they are about a small town in the Pacific Northwest and the people who live there. Now, I’d seen these DVDs for sale at the local Hallmark shop, and wanted to get them. Hims said we’d bought enough in ornaments that day, and we could get it the next week. Then there was another excuse the next week, and the week after that. Bah! But then on Christmas morning: voila! And yes, he actually watches them with me.

Okay, so I think he’s having more fun finding all the people who worked on the “Stargate: SG1” and “Stargate: Atlantis” series who are showing up in here. Oh, and there’s at least one from the reimagined “Battlestar Galactica”. Yes, we are geeks!

The colorful large book is Creative Coloring for Grown-Ups Scandinavian Folk Patterns. We’d seen oodles of “grown-up coloring” books recently, and my crafty magazines from the UK have had add-ons with coloring pages since this summer. I’d been curious to try, but didn’t want to purchase one of the books and then find out I really didn’t care for it. So Hims bought me the one with the patterns he liked best, and knew I would like, too! Oh, and yes – I do like coloring. It’s a fun way to focus my attention on something while listening to the radio or just whiling away some time – time not spent in front of the computer.

The last thing was in my stocking (along with four tins of what we call “fish mints”). Yay for this! It’s a 7 port USB 2.0 hub! I have external drives, phone hook-ups, and all sorts of stuff for USB ports, and my computer never has enough. The little 4 port one I’d been using was okay, but it sometimes didn’t work very well… I think one of the ports was messed up in it. But now all sorts of things are plugged in and I am a very happy camper.

What do you like the best out of all this? I’m curious to hear!

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

8 thoughts on “My “What I Got For Christmas” Post

    1. Thank you! I do, too – it’s cozy-warm. Unfortunately, there’s already a snag on the left arm thanks to a cat who seems to think her feeding time is any time I am awake – and sometimes when I’m still asleep. (She likes to claw at me!)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

