Posted in cosmetics, Ipsy haul, subscriptions

December’s Ipsy Haul!

 

Still catching up – but almost there! December’s Ipsy Glam Bag was themed “With  From Ipsy”.

2015 12 December full bag

 

The bag is great. A little small, but I love the quilted plastic, and the shade of red they used was perfect. It’s one I will wind up using. For what, I’m not exactly sure yet – maybe to keep tiny pieces of crafty bits in it? It might be perfect for that.  And now, for what came inside… 

The hand cream is: Aveeno Daily Moisturizing Lotion. I’ll be honest here – when I saw this was coming in my bag, I groaned, and loudly. I love Ipsy because I get to try out things I’ve never heard of, things I’ve wanted to try out but haven’t been able to, things I’d love to try but don’t want to plunk down a bundle of money and then find out I don’t like it. While I like a couple Aveeno bath products, this is not what I’d really want in a “glam bag”. That said, I do like the lotion. Would I buy it next time I’m at Target? Probably not, because I’ve already got a ton of lotion I use. (If I worked in n office where they don’t allow scented lotions or perfumes – and I’ve actually worked in one that was draconian-strict about that! – I would happily carry this with me in my purse.) Oh, and it’s won the 2015 Allure Magazine Readers’ Choice, too, so it’s really not a bad product at all.

The lipstick is: Pacifica Power of Love Natural Lipstick. Usually, I lovelovelove getting lipsticks and lip glosses, especially if they are my shade. In the tube, this looked like it was going to be a great neutral tone for me, but unfortunately it’s got a smidgen too much orange in it. I know the color is Nudie Red, but it does. (Now that I look at their site, all of the lipsticks in this collection look a bit orangey.) I’ve received a few Pacifica items before, and while I’m not over the moon about the brand, I have liked the things in the past. This lipstick is just… okay. It’s a bit drying – enough to where my normally smooth lips looked as wrinkled as a nice shirt wadded up in the bottom of the hamper. No bueno! Probably if I used a bit of balm underneath it, and maybe a stroke of a different color on top of it, this might work for me. But as it is, I wouldn’t purchase another of these.

The lip liner is: ModelCo Lip Enhancer Illusion Lip Liner. This seems to come in only one shade – nude. It works perfectly with the Pacifica lipstick, which is cool – I like that Ipsy matched these things. I like the liner, though I’m not sure I’ll get much use out of it because the color doesn’t seem like it would coordinate with my usual lipsticks. It goes on easily and stays, soit’s great on those points.

2015 12 December lip stuff

2015 12 December lip swatches
The ModelCo pencil, and then the Pacifica lipstick.

The hair product is: Marc Anthony Hair Care Coconut Oil & Shea Butter Deep Conditioning Treatment. Awhile back, I received the Marc Anthony Morocco Oil hair spray in an Ipsy bag, and I really liked it. I haven’t tried this deep conditioner out just yet, but I’ve heard good things about the product and the company itself. This is definitely something i am looking forward to testing! Oooh, and by the way? It smells delicious!

The powder is: tarte cosmetics Smooth Operator Amazonian Clay Finishing Powder. Apparently, this is the deluxe size that tarte actually sells – and it goes for $14.00 on their website. Cool! This is another thing I haven’t yet tried out, but I swatched it on my hand and can tell – it’s definitely tarte. They have such great products! Even though the holidays were all around us this past month, I didn’t really use a full glammed-out makeup, or do really much of anything special at all. So I didn’t have a real reason to try this one out… but believe me, I will soon!


Ipsy, not an awful bag for December, though I was disappointed just a tad with my things. Hey, you can’t bat 1000 with everyone! I will probably end up buying the tarte finishing powder, and maybe the Marc Anthony conditioning treatment in the future. And if you’d like to try these wonderful glam bags, too, here’s the link to get you started: Get Started With Ipsy! It’s only $10 a month, and no commitment!

 

 

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

4 thoughts on “December’s Ipsy Haul!

Leave a Reply

