Posted in cosmetics, subscriptions

Sephora PLAY! – Box #3 (November)

Still catching up!

Sephora PLAY! is currently only out in Houston and Dallas, TX, Boston, MA, and the Cincinnati/Columbus area of Ohio. There might be a couple more areas now, but I’m not sure. All the items come in this nice box, great for storage, and placed prettily inside. It also has a booklet with it, and the “title” of this month’s box is: The Exclusives. The booklet is pretty cool, going through each of the items in the box, giving you a Did You Know?, a Fun Fact, a How To Tip, and a Play! Hack. In the back there are six more hacks for the items, and the Play!Pass. The Pass entitles us to one-on-one advice from someone at Sephora (which I think just comes with walking in the door, really), and if you scan the Pass when you are shopping, you are awarded a bonus 50 Beauty Insider points.

2015 09 24 Play_ box

The booklet that came with it:

Play 3 box

 

How stuff looked when I opened it – I love that it’s nicely settled in there!:

Play 3 inside box

 

And a better look at what’s inside!

Play 3 items

 

This month, Sephora concentrated on items you can find exclusively at their stores and on their website.

Make Up For Ever Step 1 Skin Equalizer in Hydrating Primer: “I love to mix a little of this primer into foundation – it creates sheer coverage that is perfect for that kind of casual day look.” ~ Helen Phillips, Sephora Pro Artist

DID YOU KNOW? When Sephora began selling MAKE UP FOR EVER in France, founder and Parisian Dany Sanz visited the store so she could give her first customers a kiss on the cheek!

FUN FACT! The hyaluronic acid in this primer is what keeps your skin fresh and hydrated all day long.

HOW TO TIP Using your fingertips or a sponge, apply a quarter-size amount to clean skin and then layer with your favorite foundation.

#PLAYHACK Primer doesn’t just work on your face! Dab a bit on your hands, neck, and chest for younger-looking skin.

What do I think about it? I don’t know. No, really – I don’t know! Unfortunately, the tube that was sent to me was empty but for the tiniest little squirt. Therefore, I couldn’t really test out the product to form an opinion. I was totally disappointed in that.  

Would I buy this at Sephora? Probably not. Maybe. But probably not. Only because I couldn’t try it! 

Sephora Collection Contour Eye Pencil 12 Hour Wear Waterproof in My Boyfriend’s Jeans“Wearing blue eyeliner doesn’t have to scream ’80s! Get just a hint of eye-catching color by layering this bold blue over black eyeliner” ~Helen Phillips (My note: Please! The blue looks just fine on its own if you just do a small line. Now, I wouldn’t try to pull off a wing with this one…)

DID YOU KNOW? Eyeliner isn’t just about smoky or cat eye. Get adventurous with your look and try jet wings, tri-liner, double wings, fish tails, or the Cleopatra tilt.

FUN FACT! Blue eyeliner is having a moment. From short stripes to bold color-blocking, designers and stylists at fashion week used blue tones to make their models’ eyes fresh and bright.

HOW TO TIP After applying, try smudging this liner with a stiff brush or Q-tip for a softer, more subtle look.

#PLAYHACK Do something playful and unexpected by applying this liner on your waterline. (My note: I thought they just said it doesn’t have to scream ’80s… This is EXACTLY what we did in the 80s!)

What do I think about it? I’ve been using it nearly every time I put on makeup since I got this box. Tell you anything? 🙂 It goes on easily, lasts a good long time, and I love rocking a different color on my lids. 

Would I buy this at Sephora? You bet! This is something I will definitely be going to the Sephora store to purchase when this little guy runs out.  

Buxom Full-On Lip Cream in Dolly“It’s no wonder that this lip cream is a cult favorite. I love its refreshing, minty tingle!” ~Helen Phillips

DID YOU KNOW? Learn to complement your lip color with the perfect shade of blush in Sephora’s Perfectly Paired Lip & Cheek class – free for Beauty Insiders.

FUN FACT! Lip color looks best on lips that aren’t chapped. To keeps yours smooth all winter long, gently exfoliate them once a week with a facial cleansing brush or washcloth.

HOW TO TIP Wear this gloss on its own or over lipstick. For just a hint of shine, put a dab in the center of your bottom lip.

#PLAYHACK Windy day outside? Keep your hair from sticking to your lips by rubbing an ice cube over this gloss before going out.

What do I think about it? It’s a bit sticky, but not horribly so. And I love Buxom products, anyway, so I was bound to like this. The color is great for my complexion, and is one of those I can just shove in my purse to use when I haven’t got any other makeup on. 

Would I buy this at Sephora? Ummmm…. It’s $20.00 for a lip gloss. So no, I probably wouldn’t on its own – just if it was included in a gift box or something. 

Bite Beauty High Pigment Pencil in Rhubarb“If you want to make this last an extra long time, apply two coats. Don’t forget to blot excess on a tissue after the first layer.” ~Helen Phillips (My note: I remember being a little girl and watching Mom put on her lipstick, and her smile as she taught me to always blot my lips – and showing me how it was done, complete with the “mmmmmAHH!” sound effect!)

DID YOU KNOW? Going to be in NYC? Stop by Bite Beauty’s Lip Lab in Soho to get the ultimate experience in lip color and create your own custom shade.

FUN FACT! All Bite Beauty pencils are edgy and edible – each one is made with organic fruit butters, manuka honey, and anti-oxidants like reservatrol.

HOW TO TIP Put down that lip liner! To get a perfect finish, just swipe on a bit of primer and apply this pencil as you would a lipstick.

#PLAYHACK Ombré isn’t just for your hair. You can create fuller-looking lips by applying multiple lipstick shades and keeping the lightest tones in the center of your lip.

What do I think about it? Another one for the purse! I’ve never really tried Bite Beauty products before, but this seems to have been a good introduction. It lasts a decent while on the lips, doesn’t dry them out, and again, the color is great for my complexion. 

Would I buy this at Sephora? Again with the “maybe”. It’s $24.00. I don’t know if I would go for this, or get a lipstick from Laura Mercier for $25.00 to $28.00. The fact that I can EAT the lip pencil doesn’t really play into my decision, either… 

Josie Maran 100% Pure Argan Oil: “If your waterproof eye makeup won’t come off, try removing it with a swipe of argan oil.” ~Helen Phillips

DID YOU KNOW? Argan oil is one of nature’s richest forms of essential fatty acids and vitamin E, which is what makes it such a good multitasker.

FUN FACT! Argan is one of the rarest oils in the world because it is made from the fruit of trees that only grow in one region of Morocco and take 14 years to develop.

HOW TO TIP You can apply argan oil almost anywhere: face, hair, elbows, feet, scars, cuticles – Josie Maran even adds a few drops of it to her morning smoothies!

#PLAYHACK Get all-in-one coverage and glow: Just mix a few drops of argan oil into your foundation.

What do I think about it? This is one of those things I have actually had for awhile – well over a year, I believe. I do use it off and on, though not very often lately since I’ve taken up the Korean skin care regimen. I might start using some of it on my elbows (though thankfully they aren’t really rough – but hey, preventive maintenance!) and on my feet. I’m not so sure my hair would be happy with oil in it, and I am really not sure about adding this stuff to my food! 

Would I buy this at Sephora? I already have! Would I re-purchase it? I might.    

Stella McCartney Stella Eau de Parfum“Stella McCartney fragrances have the same blend of soft and edgy traits that are synonymous with the fashion brand. Think of them like the invisible Stella accessory!” ~Helen Phillips

DID YOU KNOW? Stella McCartney does not use any animal or animal-derived ingredients in any of her clothing, accessories, or fragrances.

FUN FACT! The scent of roses works like an antidepressant and encourages happiness – so give yourself a little spray whenever you need a pick-me-up.

What do I think about it? Oh. Ohhh, ohh ohhhhh. Thank you so much, Sephora, for sending a scent I can wear! I love this. It smells of roses, but not like I’m wearing rose scented oil. It’s sophisticated but still youthful – something Grandma can swipe from your dresser, or vice versa! I really do like this – probably the thing I most like in the whole box this month.

Would I buy this at Sephora? Oh yes, yes I would. The fact that it’s an eau de parfum and not an eau de toilette scores big nods from me, too. (I should do a post about my scent snobbery sometime…) $50.00 for one ounce or $72.00 for 1.6 ounces is worth it to me for this scent. 

_______________________________________________________

This was a pretty good box from Sephora. Again, I am so glad they have ventured into the subscription box arena!    

 

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

5 thoughts on “Sephora PLAY! – Box #3 (November)

Leave a Reply

