Posted in goals

2016 Is Here!

2016 1 border

As grateful as I am for all of the good things that happened to and around me in 2015, I am also glad to see a new year arrive.

I decided this year I am not making any New Year’s Resolutions. Why? Because “resolution” sounds so much like “resolute”, and that word feels so somber and serious and resigned. So instead, I have goals for this coming year! 

One goal is, obviously, losing weight. I’ve lost five pounds in the past four weeks – which with all the food and alcohol holidays in there is pretty good! I’ve already found the swimsuit I want to buy from Torrid this summer. I want to get it rightnow, but I don’t dare, because I’m not sure what my size will be by June!

Isn't it too dang cute??
Isn’t it too dang cute??

Another goal is a maybe-this-year goal. See, I’ve had my good old trusty MyTouch 4G (with a slide-out touchpad!) from T-Mobile for about four years. LOVE it still, but new apps are not always compatible with it – like iBotta and the new version of Weight Watchers. Hims and I went to our T-Mobile store the day after Christmas, thinking to get me an LG G4 because it was on sale. Oh, but right next to it was shiny! in the form of an LG V10… oh no. After comparing the phones, Hims just said to get the V10, which we did. (Thank goodness for the payment plans, right?) I have to say I am loving it. Now, for the goal: I am thinking of maybe making some YouTube videos with it after I get a phone tripod and all. This is a total maybe, as I have no idea how well I’ll do once a camera is rolling!

I need to get back into my creative stuff, too. My cross stitch, needlework, painting, and not least my writing. Last year just wasn’t a good year for any of that for me. This year, my goal is to bore you all with photos of stuff I’ve made! Well, along with the subscription stuff and makeup stuff and all the other stuff I put in here. And no, you sure don’t have to look at it. I do miss doing those things, though. Hims bought me a coloring book with Scandinavian designs in it for Christmas, and it’s reminded me how relaxing allowing my artsy side to take over can be.

I would like to walk in more 5k’s this year, too. Just after midnight on New Year’s I registered for my fifth Air Force Marathon 5k (my 5th and the marathon’s 20th!), but I don’t want that one to be the only one. As long as I keep shedding the pounds, I should be able to walk them pretty easily. Plus it’s a great way to get more teeshirts! (Like I need more teeshirts…)

What goals do you have for this year?

Happy New Year, everyone!

 

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

Leave a Reply

