Posted in Challenges

Blogging Challenge: Day 25 – Regrets

Blogger Challenge mod

“What is your biggest regret?”

I really, really try not to do regrets. There’s nothing I can do to fix what’s already been done or not, so it’s a bit of a waste to spend time regretting what can’t be changed.

If I had to choose something, it would be one: not saving tons of money throughout my life so far. Though with that, I know it would have all been spent while I was trying desperately to remain in California. So I would still be in the same financial boat as I am now. Or two: putting off calling my friend Debbie. I had wanted to call her and check up on her, but kept getting distracted by other little things. Then when I’d think about it, it would be too late at night, and I’d tell myself I’d call her the next morning. She’d called and left a little message on my voice mail the week before, just saying hi, and I wanted to call her back and say hi right back at her. Only then I got a call the day before my birthday – Debbie, who was a year and a half cancer-free, had suddenly died at two in the afternoon while in a CAT scan. All I could think was I should have called her.

Please don’t let yourself have the chance to have that type of regret, y’all. When you feel like calling or texting or writing or knocking on a door, do it. Even if you feel a little silly doing it. Just go for it.

 

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

3 thoughts on “Blogging Challenge: Day 25 – Regrets

  1. So sorry to hear about Debbie. How sad. Sometimes I really do think God gives you these little ‘nudges’ for a reason. And it’s not just about people too. Sometime ago I had this habit of using my passport as my main ID so I’d be carrying it around the whole time. I got these ‘nudges’ to put it away maybe 2 weeks before … it got lost. And I had to get a new one which was not that easy and that’s why I now pay closer attention to these ‘nudges’.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

