Posted in Challenges

Blogging Challenge: Day 5 – Pride!

Blogger Challenge mod

Today’s topic? “What’s your proudest moment?”

Yeah, let’s hope my proudest moment hasn’t already come and gone!

The first thing that pops out at me is the first year I walked the Air Force Marathon 5K, back in 2012. I was terrified! I didn’t know how these things worked, for one. I was petrified I wouldn’t manage to walk the whole way, even though I’d just walked the equivalent two days before on a “trial run”. What if I got a cramp? What if I got a bad asthma attack and couldn’t keep going? What if, what if, what if?

Well, I did it. I made it to the finish line in what’s still my best time. (Hey – until next year, that is!) I was so proud of myself for not backing out of it at the last minute like I really, really wanted to. I was proud of even trying to do this, and then making it all the way to the end. I was also proud I didn’t fall to the ground in an exhausted, relieved heap at the feet of the officer who placed the medal around my neck!

As for the future, I plan on lots more proud moments. Why settle for my proudest moment already happened?

 

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

Leave a Reply

