Posted in Challenges

Blogging Challenge: Day 4 – Dream Job

Blogger Challenge mod

Today’s challenge is: “What is your dream job?”

Being a professional writer – as in novelist- and an actress. Unfortunately, I no longer have anything close to “the look” that Hollywood wants, so being a novelist it is.

When I was a kid, I used to write stories upon stories. I loved making up my own tales, my own little worlds. It was my daydreaming caught on looseleaf notebook paper. I wrote for myself because it was fun to write. Now I have to admit I struggle – I’m always wondering if people are going to like what I write, if people will even ever read what I write, and should I perhaps try to write something that would speak to a larger audience? It’s turned into “all about the audience” instead of “all about the story”, and that sucks. This month, I have been trying to steer myself away from that train of thought, and just write what I want to read, what I can daydream, just like I used to. So far it’s working a bit, though I am also looking at how much I am lagging behind in my word count, too.

Too bad I can’t include all the words I write in my blog when I do my novel word count! I’d be set!

Just curious what other people have in mind as their dream jobs?

 

 

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

Leave a Reply

