Posted in Challenges

Blogging Challenge: Day 3

Blogger Challenge mod

Today’s challenge is “your favorite quote”!

Ohhhh maaaannnn…. Only one? I can’t just choose one! So guess what? You get a few in this post. It will be “some of my favorite quotes” – how’s that?

The first one:

You must do the things you think you cannot do. ~~Eleanor Roosevelt

There’s only one way to really know if you can or can’t do something, and that is to plow on ahead and try them. I’ve become bad about this in the past few years, thinking “I’ll never be able to do that”, but the few times I have gone ahead with things – like the Air Force Marathon 5K, because I always think I’m going to fail that! – I come out on top. I just need to keep reminding myself that I can do these things. And with that comes the second quote:

Decide that you want it more than you are afraid of it. ~~Bill Cosby

For some silly reason, I’m afraid to succeed. It makes no sense, I know, but I’m comforted in the knowledge that I’m not the only one who is like that! I sat down and tried to figure out why I feel that way – because it’s not something right there on the surface, either. I had to go over what was holding me back, and was totally surprised that I feel like shrinking back from actually winning. Maybe it’s all the thoughts of how I could fail that make me feel that way? I don’t know. I do know that this blog is part of my overcoming that! (So yay for you guys for being a part of it! Thank you!)

For November, since it is NaNoWriMo month, I have to decide every morning (and a few times throughout the day!) that I want to write more than I am afraid of finishing a novel and perhaps having it be a stinky mess. It’s scary! I wish I still had the blithe confidence in myself that I had when I was twelve years old. Hmmm… maybe I can recapture that? I have to try…

As for writing, there are three quotes I can think of right off the bat. The first is a reminder to myself to show, don’t tell:

Don’t tell me the moon is shining; show me the glint of light on broken glass. ~~Anton Chekov

The second is a reminder of why I wrote so many stories for hours on end when I was a kid:

I write to give myself strength. I write to be the characters I am not. I write to explore all the things I am afraid of. ~~Joss Whedon

And the third is just The Truth from one of my favorite authors throughout my life:

You fail only if you stop writing. ~~Ray Bradbury

And last but not least, I have to add the quote that will make me sigh and smile wistfully Every. Dang. Time.

In vain I have struggled, it will not do. My feelings will not be repressed. You must allow me to tell you how ardently I admire and love you.

Just in case you don’t know, that is a quote from Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice, of Mr. Darcy’s proposal to Elizabeth, and probably the most quoted line from either the book or the movies.

Thank you for letting me babble on about quotes this morning! Now I need to go feed the cats (Alanis has settled in right next to me, waiting expectantly for her food), and then work on my story for awhile. Oh, and probably make more coffee!

Have a great day!

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

Leave a Reply

