Posted in Challenges

Blogging Challenge: Day 2

Blogger Challenge mod

 

Today’s challenge is “10 facts about you”!

  1. I am doing NaNoWriMo this month – trying to write 50,000 words of a novel in thirty days.
  2. I have two cats: Alanis, who is an almost-18 year old marmalade girl, and Dexter, who is a 3 year old tuxedo boy. Both of them talk so much they are sure to have Siamese in their blood.
  3. I still love Stargate: SG1 and Stargate: Atlantis – and not just because Jason Momoa is on the latter!
  4. My favorite Doctor is Number Eight – Paul McGann. Eight is sexy and steampunk. I love McGann in HornblowerWithnail & I, and even liked the British comedy Hotel, where he’s co-starring with the current Doctor, Peter Capaldi.
  5. I really don’t like winter. It’s dark and dreary and COLD. Sometimes it feels the only thing that keeps me going in the thought of spring coming next.
  6. I read. A lot. I prefer historical fiction, science fiction, or some fantasy. If they’re not ridiculous, I like some romances. And if a history book is well-written and engaging, I’m all over it!
  7. I’m 5 feet, 4 inches, even though I swear I used to be 5’5″!
  8. I’m an introvert. It doesn’t mean I don’t want to be around anyone – it just means I am horrible at speaking with people I don’t know, and lousy at verbal communication. Oh, and my face turns the most hideous shade of red when I get embarrassed – which is quite often it seems. On the other hand, if I feel comfortable and in control of my situation (like when I was tending bar or on stage), I can communicate very smoothly and entertain people. Even strangers! But this is why I prefer emails to phone calls, too – I just need to learn to go slowly, don’t let someone rush me, and think about what I am going to say before gobbledygook comes spilling out of my mouth.
  9. I have asthma, which makes trying to walk outside in a winter wind a lot harder than usual. My inhaler is always with me, in a pocket or in my purse.
  10. I am a few credits away from my Associates Degree. I know – I should have already had a Bachelors by now, but I pay up front so I don’t wind up with student loan debt. That means one or two classes a semester, depending on how much the books run. I haven’t been in a class for a couple years for one reason or another, but would really like to get back into it. Maybe I’ll explore options for this winter… hmmmm!

I hope you guys are enjoying this!

 

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

Leave a Reply

