Posted in cosmetics, Ipsy haul, subscriptions

October’s Ipsy Haul!

And a Happy Back To The Future Day to everyone!

Ipsy was late in September, and I am late in October. Evens out, right? Well, I got this month’s glam bag and two things really made me smile: lip stuff and nail stuff. Yay!

2015 10 18 October bag

 

The bag is… well… I like it but don’t totally love it. The gold on one side is okay, but not my favorite. There’s shiny black patent on the other side, though, and I do love that. So I guess just keep it turned to that side, right? It’s square, which for me is an odd shape for a makeup bag, but a great shape for things like face wipes and cotton balls and cotton pads, and even a little Kleenex travel pack. Perfect for sticking in the glove compartment of the car for the in-case-I-need-its. Which is what I’m going to do!  And now, for what came inside… 

The hand cream is: Delectable Coconut & Cream Ultra-Nourishing Hand Cream. A nice two-ounce size hand cream! I love the smell… sometimes. I think it’s depending on my mood. It’s a really nicely-done coconut and cream scent, don’t get me wrong! Just sometimes it makes me think of California beaches in the summertime (good!), but once yesterday afternoon it brought to mind a car air freshener. No clue why that popped into my head. This is a really nice hand cream: not greasy, not thick, and my skin drinks it in quickly. I’m hard-pressed to give up my Nivea Soft, but I do like this one.

The lip gloss is: theBalm Cosmetics’ Meet Matt(e) Hughes Long-Lasting Liquid Lipstick. Okay, I don’t know who Matt Hughes is, but I’d love to meet him! (Yes, yes, I get it: matte hues. I laughed!) I am not really one for matte lipsticks. Most of them are pretty drying (even some that claim they aren’t), and usually I just don’t care for how they look on me. Maybe that’s a result of my lipgloss-tinted teen years! So even though I have liked what I’ve received from theBalm before, I was wishing this wasn’t matte. Anyway – I try this stuff. The first thing I notice is this absolutely yummy scent of mint chocolate. Okay, so the website says vanilla mint, but I swear, it smells like Andes mints! The color goes on soooo velvety, I was checking to make sure it really was matte. It is – and it’s a good looking matte, too. The formula isn’t drying, and it isn’t heavy at all. The only thing I would change for myself is the color, because it’s just barely off my shade. I fixed that, though, with some Cover Girl lip gloss I received in a Target Beauty Box in August. I know – it defeats the purpose of a matte lipstick. But it really worked well together for me. Would I buy more? You bet! Just in a different shade.

The bb cream is: pur-lisse BB Tinted Moist Cream SPF30 . Ugh, I thought. Another face thing I will wind up not using. To be honest, I hadn’t even tried it until just now. I really don’t hold high expectations for these things just because I can be so damn picky. Good thing I haven’t had breakfast yet, because I’ve had to eat my words. I really liked this! It goes on smooth and light, covers just enough to make it look as though I’m not wearing anything (but hiding things I don’t want seen!), and has absolutely no odor to it at all. In order to get the direct link, I went to the website – and saw this was made in Korea. Yeah, I’m pretty sold on this. Granted, I haven’t worn it all day to test it out, but so far I’d purchase it, I think.

The nail polish is: Aurora Gel-Effect Nail Polish in Inky Dinky. Yay for nail polish! A deep, deep purple-blue for the autumn and winter months, too. I haven’t tried this on my nails yet, as I’m rocking some Halloween style polish, but testing it out it looks like it will go on pretty opaque, and only take one or two coats to cover completely. The website says to use their gel effect top coat to really make is look good, but I think I’ll use one I already have here. Looking forward to wearing this!

The skincare is: Dr. Brandt Skincare – Microdermabrasion. Is Ipsy trying to tell me something? I’ve had microdermabrasion in two consecutive glam bags. *goes to check in the mirror* I’ve always heard good things about this brand, but have never bought anything from them. Maybe it’s because a tube of this costs $78.00? For that price, it had better be a true miracle worker. I can understand people just loving it, but for me, this product feels much the same as the one from last month, though it does leave my face feeling cool instead of hot. That’s a big plus! Would I purchase this? I don’t know. If, after trying many others, I find this is the best one – then you bet I’d buy it. But not right this moment.


Ipsy, I loved the glam bag for October! Whether I wind up buying things in it or not, I’ll definitely use everything sent. And if you’d like to try these wonderful glam bags, too, here’s the link to get you started: Get Started With Ipsy! It’s only $10 a month, and no commitment!

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

5 thoughts on “October’s Ipsy Haul!

Leave a Reply

