Posted in cosmetics, Ipsy haul, subscriptions

September’s Ipsy Haul – Really Late!

Ipsy was late in September! O NOES! I noticed that was a complaint of a lot of people out there, too. Thankfully for me, I was also looking forward to the very first Sephora PLAY! box that month.

2015 10 18 September bag

The bag isn’t my favorite, but it’s not the worst, either. The back at the part above the zipper are a coppery very-faux-leather stamp. The bottom part under the zipper is a raised zig-zag which looks like it would be soft, but isn’t. (Not that that’s bad!) It’s actually a good size to tote around makeup brushes, so I might use it for that when I need to.  And now, for what came inside… 

The cleanser is: Vasanti Cosmetics Brighten Up! Exfoliating Cleanser. It’s 100% vegan and not tested on animals, so I know this will be a popular item. Personally, I didn’t care for it on my whole face. It felt way too much like sandpaper grit and left my face pink. (No, I didn’t scrub it too hard, either!) It doesn’t have much of a scent to it, and seems to wash off well – but I think I will reserve this for just spot-exfoliation when I don’t need to use my normal one for my entire face.

The lipstick is: City Chic Lipstick by City Color Cosmetics. They sent out two different shades: Je t’aime (deep rose) and One Night Stand (rosy purple). Mine turned out to be the One Night Stand, which I cringed at when I first saw it. Just not my color, I think! But I tried it on, and Hims said he liked it. (And yes, he’ll definitely tell me if something doesn’t look good on me.) I’ll give it a go with more makeup on and see how I like the shade. As for the formula? Love it. Creamy buttery goodness, with no scent to it at all. I’d definitely try out other shades in this line.

The brow powder is: Brow Powder Trio by Pixi by Petra. This looks like a mini sampler made especially for Ipsy, since I can’t find it on the company’s website. Personally, I prefer brow pencils when I use them, so this is going to go straight into my giveaway drawer. I’ve seen people say it isn’t that pigmented, either, but that would be good if you have a lighter brow, like I do. Plus, it can always be used as an eyeshadow!

The eyeshadow is: Ipsy Eye Shadow Trio by Nyx. I’ve heard lots of good things about Nyx and have liked the few items I’ve wound up with by them. So I was a bit disappointed that this trio is not something I would really use. I’ve already got colors close to those, and I just can’t see myself using these as well. Cute packaging with a bow on the front, and definitely something I’ll pass on to someone who will use it.

The makeup brush is: Crown Brush Oval Concealer Brush (C224). I’ve already got a concealer brush from Clinique I use, but this can definitely be used for eyeshadow! I’ve really liked the Crown brushes I’ve received so far, and certainly won’t complain about another one. They seem pretty well made, and I can always use more.


A good bag this month, though part of the goodness are things I won’t use. Other than that, Ipsy did well! And if you’d like to try these monthly gifties, too, here’s the link to get you started: Get Started With Ipsy!

2015 10 18 September bag city chic lipstick

 

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

Leave a Reply

