Posted in cosmetics, Product Reviews

Product Review: imPRESS Press-on Manicure

It has been awhile since I went all-out with fake nails, since I don’t like the way the glue tears up my natural nails. As for press-on nails, it’s been at least five years since I bothered with them. Why? Because they pop off so easily! They seem to stay on for a day, maybe two, and then right when you finally feel as though maybe this time you’ll get your money’s worth out of the things, two come flying off at the grocery store or while you’re in a meeting with your department or you pull your hand out of a load of laundry only to discover you’ve lost a nail or two in your wet clothes while transferring them from the washer to the dryer. No fun!

When I saw that imPress wanted bloggers to try out their nails, I almost didn’t apply for it. Even though they say they are waterproof. Even though they claim to be 2x longer lasting, and will stay on a whole week. I was skeptical like crazy. But… what the heck. I’ll give them a try.

imPRESS Press On Nails in Casting Call
imPRESS Press On Nails in Casting Call

 

Their key points are:

  •  Simply peel backing and press on — Yes, it really is that simple. Just align with your cuticle bed and press down in the center, then press on either side.
  • No drying time and no mess — No drying time, no, as there’s really nothing to dry. You can’t get your nails wet for 30 minutes after applying, though, and the more you keep pressure on the nails in the first half-hour, the better the adhesive is supposed to work. I didn’t do it a whole lot, and they stayed on quite nicely.
  • Safe on natural nails — Other than feeling the need to moisturize my nails after taking them off (which I do after removing regular nail polish, too), they didn’t seem to tear up my nails or do any damage that I could tell.
  • Mega gel shine — They are shiny, yes. They shine more in the sunlight – more than I expected.
  • UltraHold Technology keeps nails on — I did dishes, laundry, opened cans of food, typed (a lot!), and just did my normal, everyday routine with these on, and had no issue with them. I even skritched Hims’ back, and he couldn’t tell the difference!
  • $7.99 / Walgreens — I don’t really shop at Walgreens, but I have seen these at Target lately for from $4.99 to $7.99. Now, the ones I was sent are the fancier, more expensive ones – the deep brown ones called Casting Call and the sweet pink ones with glitter gold and white accent nails called Symphony.

On Day Three, I tried to remove the nails. I get bored with the same color after a few days, so I usually whip out the nail polish remover and the cotton balls, and wipe my nails clean for a different color.

Not this time!

I tried to pull them off, and they didn’t want to budge. I even tried getting polish remover under one nail and it didn’t move. These really do stay on for a week! I’m completely impressed with this. (No pun intended – but what a great way to remember the brand!) On their site they say to put nail polish remover around the edges of the nail and wait one minute before peeling it off. I was a bit impatient for that the first time I tried.

Later that evening, I tried removing them again. I managed to get two off without polish remover, but opted for using the remover for the rest of my nails. I found the best way for me was to soak the cotton ball in remover. Lift up one side of the nail enough to be able to squeeze another nail and some of the cotton ball under there, and just hold the cotton next to the adhesive. After a bit, you can work the cotton under farther, lifting the nail up with your other finger, until the nail comes off. Some of them did leave the pink, extremely sticky glue on my nails, and that was amusing in a Charlie Chaplin kind of way while trying to transfer the glue from nail to fingers to trash sack! After getting all of the glue off your nails, I would highly suggest using a balm or moisturizer on them, simply because they were sealed up with a foreign substance for up to a week. (I use my beloved Tallowderm, something I discovered at the farmers’ market last year – and something I should introduce everyone to on this blog later!)

I do have to say that I’ve received a few compliments on these nails. Each lady thought it was a salon manicure, and were surprised when I told them they were press on nails. One even worked in Target, and I told her she could get them just down the aisle, or find more at Walgreen’s. She was happy! Hims agrees – he says they really do look like an expensive manicure from a salon, and he’s really not one to compliment when something doesn’t warrant it.

Is this a product I would purchase for myself? Yes, I think it is. Granted, I have a ton of nail polishes for my natural nails, so I wouldn’t need these that often, but I really, really like these. They will be perfect for when I have my nails shorter, or when I want a perfect manicure and simply don’t have the time or wherewithal to do my nails in a nice, fancy manner.  Plus ladies – wouldn’t these be great as stocking stuffers for Christmas? I’d love to find a few packs of these in my stocking! Hey – it’s never too early to stash little gifts like that away… especially if it’s also for yourself!

Now, I was sent these for free to try out and to give my honest opinion on my blog about them. Here you have it. If you’d like to see for yourself what they offer, head on over to http://impressmanicure.com/ and browse around. 🙂

 

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

6 thoughts on “Product Review: imPRESS Press-on Manicure

    1. LOL! I really am, too. The only thing I wish didn’t happen is my hair getting caught underneath them near the cuticle. It makes it difficult to braid or put my hair up in a pony, or even wash it. Other than that, I am loving them!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

