Posted in Uncategorized

Tagging Myself: Get To Know Me

I keep seeing all these “get to know me” tags and “what’s in your bag” tags and all, and I wanted to join in the fun! I’ve finally found a couple bloggers who’ve just done it without anyone else tagging them, so since they went first, I’ll do the questionnaire, too. (This one found on Anna Bankester’s Bee Beauty!)

1. Is your hair naturally curly or straight?

When I was little, it was a bit wavy. Growing up, it turned straight, so for years I thought that was the way of it. During this most recent visit to a salon, though, I was asked about my curly hair! It’s long – reaching down to almost my waist – so the weight pulls the curls out for the most part, but she told me that my hair definitely has curl to it, which is why I have been having so much trouble with it tangling at the nape of my neck for no apparent reason. Now – should I cut it to check out the curling action, or should I keep it long??

2. Do you dye it yourself or go to a salon?

I used to dye it myself (when I colored my hair), but the last time I did a color (not shade) change, it got completely screwed up. I have blonde hair with red highlights, and was dyeing it black with blue highlights. I thought I got all of it, but there was a strip in the very back that I couldn’t see that didn’t get as much coloring on it. Blue-black + blonde = green. What’s sad is people I knew never said anything about it – they either didn’t want to upset me, or they figured I’d done it on purpose! I lost out on a few good jobs with the help of my “skunk stripe” before I caught sight of it in a multi-position mirror one day. Ouch! But hey – it makes for a good story now!

3. Do you wear the same style everyday, or do you change it?

Right now, I usually have it down, with the front parts shoved incessantly behind my ears, or in a single braid in the back when I am swimming or walking. I’ve never been the most talented when it comes to fixing my hair nicely, though I would love to be able to. I used to wear it a lot in a pony tail made by a comb-and-ponytail-holder thing, but I can’t find the thing now. (Gee, what a great sentence that is…)

Of course, I now decide to go Google it, and found out what it is: a “bandette comb” by Localoc. I had thought I bought it at Target, but the website says it’s available at Walgreens. This is what I’m talking about:

localoc-bandette-comb

4. Do you do your own mani/pedi or go to a salon?

I do my own manicures, and don’t really bother with my toes. I’ve actually never had a salon manicure in my life! I couldn’t see why I needed to pay someone to paint my nails. Now, however, I think I’d love to try, just so I can get some really nice nail art done.

5. How often do you change your nail polish?

Ooof – two or three times a week. I have a ton of polishes and like to change out my nail color quite a bit.

6. Do you polish your toes in the winter or just the summer?

I rarely polish them at all right now. This is the first year I’ve really been at the pool very much (and this is the last week for it), and I usually wear tennis shoes during the summer instead of sandals. I don’t really paint them because no one but me and Hims sees them.

7. How long does it take for you to put on makeup?

If I’m just throwing some color on, it’s maybe five minutes. That would be a swipe of shadow, some mascara, some lip color, and maybe a bit of blush. If I’m doing my full face, then it can take up to 40 minutes.

8. What do you do first? Face or eyes?

I’ve always done my face first, but have been considering trying eyes first to minimize the Curse of the Fallout.

9. Do you collect makeup or just buy what you need when you need it?

Ooooh – It used tobe that I only bought what I needed when I needed it. Then it became “I’m a bit depressy. I’ll buy a lipstick to feel better”. Now I get so much in subscriptions I don’t really need to buy much, but I find myself totally lusting after things I see in vlogs and blogs!

10. How often do you wear false eyelashes?

I’ve never, ever worn them. I might try them out sometime, but since I am hard-pressed to make a good straight line with my eyeliner, I’m afraid of trying to glue something to my eyelid!

11. Do you do a full face of makeup everyday?

Nooooo. I’m usually around the house, or out walking or at the pool, where I wouldn’t want makeup on. When I go places, I like to have makeup on, but that’s not always feasible.

12. Do you wear makeup when you’re home alone or with family?

Not usually. Sometimes I might decide to try something out and I’ll leave it on, but I don’t put makeup on just for myself. And Hims says I’m beautiful no matter what. 🙂

13. Will you leave the house without makeup?

Yes! If I am going for a walk, going swimming, running to the grocery store or Target. When I was in my early 20s, I wouldn’t be caught dead without makeup on! I would have worn a full face of makeup to a 5k if I’d done them back then – but I wouldn’t have done them back then because they would have made me sweat and ruined my makeup! Now, though, I’d much rather spend less time perfecting my face for people who won’t even notice, and using it to do junk I like instead. Like writing something in this blog.

14. How many high-end products do you have? 

Oh, dear…. a lot? I’d guess, without going into the bathroom and counting everything, probably between 20 and 30. High-end to me would be like Tarte, Dior, Chanel, Laura Mercier, etc.

15. Do you plan your OOTD every night or decide when you’re getting dressed?

I’m just this side of picking things up and asking “Is this clean?”

Seriously, I rarely go somewhere where I need to be dressed up, so I don’t put that much thought into what I wear. As long as I like it, it’s comfortable, and is reasonably cute, it’s good. The one outfit a week that I probably think the most about is what I wear to weigh-ins on Wednesday nights. I’m looking for the lightest-weight clothing I can find!

16. How often do you change your handbag?

Probably every few months. I’ve got a ton of them, but each one fits a different aspect of my personality. Right now, I’ve been carrying around a small bag from Target. I’m usually a large bag girl, but I wanted something smaller (and more light-weight!) for the summertime.

17. What time do you wake up and go to sleep?

I usually go to bed around 10:00pm and get up around 5:30am. It sucks. I do this because it’s the hours Hims sleeps, and I don’t want to bother him by getting into bed after he’s dozed off, and I don’t feel it’s fair that he has to get up so early and I get to loll around in bed!

18. How often or when do you workout?

I try to walk at least one mile every day. While I’ve been swimming in the pool, I’ve tried to do that around an hour and a half to two hours each day I’ve been there. After the pool closes, I’m thinking of making use of the exercise room in our apartment complex – as long as I can change the television channel off ESPN!

19. Left handed or right-handed?

Right-handed, though a bit ambidextrous with some things.

20. How tall are you?

5 feet, 4 inches!

21. Do you speak any foreign languages?

No, though I’ve taken French and Spanish. When I was ages 1-4, my parents had an au pair from Sweden. I was just learning to speak, and Mom thought it would be great if I learned a second language, too. Mari was teaching me Swedish, but the only problem was I would run excitedly into the room to Mom and start telling her something – half in English and half in Swedish. Mom had to ask Mari to please teach me there’s a difference between the languages, too! (I’d guess I still have Swedish locked away somewhere in my head.)

22. How many pets do you have?

Two cats – Alanis and Dexter.

23.Do you read comments posted on blogs?

Yes! I love seeing how people respond to posts.

24. Do you keep a list of products to try as you see other posts?

Sometimes… usually I try to remember them.

25.How did you come up with your blog name

I had another blog before this, mainly about weight loss. I kept restarting and restarting the Weight Watchers program, so finally decided to “restart” blogging, too. Like a clean slate. Since the blog is about me and what I like, and sure isn’t the first time I’ve had a blog, I liked the way “Me, Take Three” sounded.

26.What kind of camera do you use for your photographs?

A Canon PowerShot SX130

27.How often do you clean your house?

Ohhh…. ahhh…. ermmmm……. There’s always something being cleaned here, but it’s not a showroom. 🙂

28.What’s your favorite color?

Growing up, it was red, though I liked pinks, too. As an adult, I found myself gravitating more towards turquoise and teals, and that 50s light blue. I love those still, but now pick up more pink than I ever thought I would. And I like green. And coral.

Okay, I just like colors!

29.Do you swear?

People probably wouldn’t want their kids within earshot when I get mad.

30.What are you doing with the rest of your day?

Going for a long walk. Doing dishes. Probably running the vacuum cleaner. Doing some ironing. (See Question 27!)

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

Leave a Reply

