Posted in cosmetics, Hauls, Ipsy haul, makeup, subscriptions

August’s Ipsy Haul

I have to admit, I wasn’t that thrilled when I saw my sneak peek at my Ipsy bag this month. Yay for the nail polish, but the rest was just meh to me. Then I got it, tried the things, and decided these were things to be happy about after all. What a nice surprise!

2015 08 16 August full

I love retro, so you know I loved that bag. It would have been cooler if it was fabric instead of plastic, but I’m not going to complain. I had to laugh a bit that the Ipsy gang associated houndstooth with prep school. It always reminds me of my grandmother – she was buried in her favorite houndstooth dress, and I want to say she had a houndstooth coat as well as her camel-colored coat. It makes me think glamorous! And now, for what came inside… 

The hair oil is: Marc Anthony Nourishing Argan Oil of Morocco Oil Treatment. The Ipsy site says “this treatment is a lightweight oil used daily for strong, glossy, frizz-free hair”. Since I have been swimming so much, the ends of my hair have become quite crispy, so I decided to test this out on them. Now, three little drops is not enough for my waist-length hair, first off, so I applied about six drops from the middle of my hair down to the ends. It smells wonderful! And it seems to work, though I’m guessing it needs more than just a couple applications to see any real results.

The lip gloss is: Hikari Cosmetics Lip Gloss. They sent out two different shades: Salsa (classic red) and Merlot (intense red mauve). I usually wind up with the reds that have a bit too much orange tint in them for my complexion (even if they don’t look like they would), but this time I received Merlot – yay! It looks just stunning on me, and I am loving it. It’s not too sticky or slippery, which adds to its appeal for me. This is one of the products I might have to purchase when I run out!

The night cream is: La Fresh Group Good Night Night Cream. Meh. I don’t really care for things like this in my bag because I don’t often use them. In fact, I received their Good Day Day Moisturizer a few months ago. The packaging is great on these – I love that we can close it up if we don’t use everything at once. I might try both of them for a couple days to see how they work on my skin.  Still, I’d rather have received a perfume sample or another make-up. (But I can’t complain!)

The eye liner is: Doucce Ultra Precision Eye Liner in Black. This is a great eye liner. It’s easy to apply (which is a relief after my trying to train myself to use a felt-tip pen!), stays on nicely, and just does what an eye liner should do – defines my eye a bit. I really like this. It says it’s an “ultra precise moulded plastic eye pencil” – curious to see how this will work when I have to sharpen it!

The nail polish is: Trust Fund Beauty Nail Polish in Elegantly Wasted. Yes! Nail polish! Out of curiosity, I went over to the Trust Fund Beauty site before this bag even got to me. I fell in love with their names before I tried their product – and the product didn’t disappoint, either! Names like Publicist on Speed Dial1st Degree DivaBut… Daddy, and the one I received: Elegantly Wasted. Love it! I can see myself “needing” to order a few of these in the not-too-distant future.


On the whole, a really good bag this month – very happy! And if you’d like to try these monthly gifties, too, here’s the link to get you started: Get Started With Ipsy!

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

3 thoughts on “August’s Ipsy Haul

Leave a Reply

