Posted in cosmetics

Sephora and the Quest for Epic Rewards

August 10, 2015: my birthday! And how excited am I that Sephora’s Epic Rewards are released on that day? (If you said “Very”, you win.) Ever since the first email about it came out, I’ve had my eye on the train case full of Sephora items. The train case, really, not so much the items. See, I’ve wanted a nice train case for years, but they’re expensive and I haven’t been able to justify spending $110.oo on something to hold makeup when I travel – which is rarely at this point. It’s just so vintage-feeling to me, and even the name, train case, conjures visions of glamorous Mid-Century women waiting in the echoing passenger area of Los Angeles’ Union Station to board a train for Chicago or Dallas or New York City. So when I saw one of the 2000 point rewards was a train case (full of Sephora stuff), I squealed and set my sights on that.

s1729979-main-hero-300

2:35am: My phone alarm goes off, waking me from what is the first restful sleep I have had in a number of nights. I’m really tempted to just stay in bed, snuggle up to Hims, and go back to sleep. My pillow is so comfy! But no – I want this train case! So I pull myself into a sitting position and force myself out of bed and into the “everything room” where our computers are.

3:00am: It’s midnight on the West Coast, where Sephora’s offices are. The ads change over on the website when I refresh – but I can’t find anything about Epic Rewards anywhere. Am I just missing it? It’s not on the rewards page, and it’s not in the sidebar for a separate page…

3:35am: I’ve refreshed and refreshed and refreshed. Nothing. I can’t just stay in here doing this all night long. I can hear Hims getting up and moving around a bit in the bedroom, which isn’t good as he has to get up for work in a few hours. Forget this for now – I’ll check back when it’s later.

8:00am Still nothing, but it’s only 5:00am in San Francisco. Maybe it’ll show up in an hour?

9:00am: It’s 6:00am in California, and still no Epic Rewards thing. I really want to go walking, but I don’t want to come back and find out I’ve missed this. A few different websites are telling about how the last time they did this everything was gone within minutes. People would have things in their cart and by the time they finished checkout, it was showing as sold out. People telling of how Sephora really only has one of each item, but they aren’t saying that this time around – just very limited quantities. Telling of how Sephora just had the bonus points week right before so everyone was trying to stock up on points for the Epic Rewards – just a marketing gimmick. One of them says a Sephora rep said that these things will be released at sometime during the business day, which the poster assumes will be between 8:00am and 6:00pm Pacific Time. That’s between 11:00am and 9:00pm for me. I hope it’s more like 11:00am. I don’t want to feel like I need to sit here all day long – especially not on my birthday!

10:21am: I found the link for the different levels of rewards. Camping out on the 2000 point reward link now! I’ve got my credit card number written out so I can copy and paste it (saves a few seconds!), and I’m refreshing every few minutes just in case. But first, I have to go pee. And I need something for breakfast…

12:11pm: Still nothing. The complaints on the feedback part of the site are mounting. People are angry they don’t know what times these go live. They are mad because they have to go to work or school, and can’t sit around refreshing their screens into infinity, waiting for Sephora to turn on the Epic Rewards. Some of the VIB Rouge members are mad that they don’t get first pick because they spend more money.

I look outside wistfully, wishing I could go to the pool right now, but I know I would be so angry if I did that and the Rewards went live while I was splashing around. Hims has said to just leave it alone – go do stuff and he can buy me a train case. But I want that one, and it’s full of stuff and and and – and it’s free!

I can’t believe I am spending my birthday this way. I wish at least Ipsy would have come in the mail today. A little salve for my refresh-the-screen wounds.

2:38pm: There have been some sudden downpours outside, so maybe it’s a good thing I didn’t go swimming today. Hey, I’m trying to look on the bright side! *laughs* Still nothing on the Sephora website – everything is marked “out of stock”, which is what they say it will say until they flip the switch and make this sale go live. Maybe at 3:00pm? My time, I mean…. I hope so!

Seriously, this train case and all the goodies with it are beginning to look less and less desirable. I hate to say it, but so is Sephora, at least for now.

Going back to check out the way to play the Force of Will trading card game. Thank goodness for YouTube, right?

2:59pm: It went live about a minute ago and I was just a bit late – the only things left are things I’m totally uninterested in.

3:01pm: Everything is gone in the 1000 and 2000 point range.

I am really disappointed. I feel like I’ve wasted an entire day because I thought there was a decent chance. It looks like they did the same thing I’ve heard they did with other events like this – have just one or two of each thing available. I would have thought there would be at least 20 or so of the lower ones! I know, they retail for a lot, but the cost isn’t near retail.

Anyway – Hims has promised we can drive over to Sephora, even just as a window-shopping thing, this evening. I’d like to look at the train cases they have there in the store. Who knows, maybe I’ll save up my pennies for a pretty pink one or something. Plus there’s still a Tarte set I’d like. Oh, and my birthday thingie!

Yes, I can cheer myself up nicely with the thought of a new lipstick.

Have a great day, everyone!

 

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

One thought on “Sephora and the Quest for Epic Rewards

Leave a Reply

