Posted in fitness, walking, Weight Watchers

NO!!! Why Did I Gain?

It’s just not fair!

I swam in the pool for two hours on Saturday and an hour and forty-five minutes Tuesday. I walked most of the other days, trying to step up the pace for the upcoming 5k. I was good with food, though I could have eaten more veggies, and really didn’t need that piece of cake a few days ago.

So why oh why was the scale up 1.6 pounds at weigh in last night???

Believe it or not, it was the exercise. As Karen, our intrepid WW leader explained to me, when you exercise a lot like I have the past week, your muscles become inflamed – they retain water and blood to help heal the damage you’ve done to them. And yes, I Googled it and that’s right. She laughed and told me not to worry about it, that I’m doing exactly the right thing. I’d heard that lots of exercise can make the scale go up instead of down, when you’d think it would be the opposite, but hey – I had to be sure I’d heard that right!

So now I am 3.8 pounds away from my next 5 pound mark. I’m not hitting myself over the head, though, like I would have in the past. Hey – I didn’t do anything wrong, and there’s a good reason for the gain! And I am still past the 10 pounds lost mark, which I had set as a goal for myself: 10 pounds lost by my birthday this Monday. My next big goal is finishing the 5k in under an hour – even if it’s 59:59999 on the clock! I’m in the mood to go out and walk a long-for-me distance, but it’s pouring rain out there.

I know that’s not a good excuse, but I’ll wait a bit longer to see if the rain will stop. There’s always the indoor track later on!

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

6 thoughts on “NO!!! Why Did I Gain?

  1. Glad to see I’m not the only one this has happened to! I just started my weight loss journey. I’m not overweight at all – I actually have a normal BMI. I just wanted to focus on toning up and am hoping to shed at least 10 pounds. So when I weighed myself after week 1 I was disappointed to see I had only lost 0.4 pounds. That was after working out for 6 days and eating really well. People assured me that this was normal because of the amount of exercise – but I wasn’t sure I believed them. Thanks for sharing your experience! It’s good to know I’m not the only one. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

