Posted in cosmetics, subscriptions

Unboxing Walmart Beauty Box: Summer for Over 35 – The Old Lady Box!

Another Walmart Beauty Box in the mail – this time for those of us over the ripe old age of 35! I was excited to get this one, after having seen some unboxings with a full-sized Olay cream in the box Alas, it wasn’t meant to be for mine. I wonder if the people who signed up at the beginning of all this are the ones who get the first go-round of samples, and those of us coming late to the show are getting what’s left over?

And is it me, or is the Old Lady box smaller than the Under-35 box?

The two boxes
The two boxes

As soon as I opened my box, I saw it… another Revlon Ultra HD Lipstick in Gladiolus. Eureka! So now Deanna can have one, and I have another to stick in a giveaway box! I’m so not complaining about that. A nice, full-sized lipstick that retails for $7.99 at Target and $7.97 at Walmart (and apparently $9.99 at Ulta?? I don’t know – that’s what the sidebar of the search engine is telling me…). This is a great thing in my beauty box.

2015 07 09 Revlon Ultra HD lippy courtney

The little bottles included a travel sample of Dove GoFresh body wash in mandarin and tiare flower scent. I had this in my Under 35 box, the spring edition. The scent is nice, and I’ve actually been using it yesterday and today. It’s a good body wash, but I’d rather have had something new. Okay -so it WAS new for the Old Lady box. Both summer boxes had the sample of Clear shampoo (again, no conditioner with it) and the Aveeno Protect+Hydrate sunscreen lotion SPF 30. The shampoo will join the other for brush-washing or emergencies, and the sunscreen lotion will be dropped in a purse. With the amount of sun we’ve been having this summer, I think I’ll probably still have some of that lotion left over!

2015 07 10 Dove Clear Aveeno border

Both boxes also received the Neutrogena Healthy Volume mascara in black – can I put this in a giveaway, I wonder?? The Old Lady box had another Neutrogena product in it: a very small tube of Neutrogena Hydro Boost Water Gel. From the information on their website, it is supposed to keep hydrating your skin with water to help prevent wrinkles and nasty little things like that. I’ll try it, but I do have a plethora of moisturizers already.

2015 07 10 Neutrogena border

And to the foils! Oh, my. First one I saw was a generously-filled trio: L’Oreal Total Repair 5, the shampoo, conditioner, and a treatment called ceramide. It took me a few moments, but then I remembered why it looked familiar – the travel sizes of the shampoo and conditioner were in the Old Lady box for spring. There was another magazine card foil from Garnier Ultra-lift Miracle Sleeping Cream, which was also in the Old Lady box last time. I did get an Olay sample – but the amount in the foil of their Regenerist Luminous Tone Perfecting Cream might be enough to cover my nose and cheeks, but that’s about it. SO VERY DISAPPOINTED in this. And then as if to add to the frowns, I also received a $2.00 off coupon for something called Everpro GrayAway temporary root concealer. On the Walmart site it says: “The instant way to spray away gray roots between hair colorings”.

Years ago, I worked in a cool cutlery shop in a mall. A nice gentleman worked in the shop next to ours, and his hair happened to be thinning on top. He didn’t like this, so every morning before he opened the gate to his shop, he would pull out a can of aerosol hair paint, and try to camouflage the bare spots. He wasn’t fooling anyone who really looked (or smelled the spray at 9:55am). This is what this Everpro GrayAway makes me think of. I am not going to spray paint my hair even if I DID have gray roots to cover up – which I don’t.

2015 07 10 foils border
The parade of foil packets

The presence of Real Live Cosmetics in this box saved it from being canceled just yet. We’ll see what it’s like come autumn. (I bet there’s even more moisturizers!)

Thank you for reading, and hang in there – I came home from running errands this afternoon to discover my Ipsy bag had arrived early! So as soon as I have those photos done, I’ll post!

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

2 thoughts on “Unboxing Walmart Beauty Box: Summer for Over 35 – The Old Lady Box!

    1. It was dubbed that by other “old ladies” who weren’t too happy that WalMart figured if we weren’t in college, we were only in the market for moisturizer and shampoo! LOL Hopefully the company is rethinking that. It’s fun to have at least ONE makeup product in the box!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

