Posted in subscriptions

Unboxing Walmart Beauty Box: Summer for Under 35

Hi, everyone! I have to admit – I was pleasantly surprised by this Walmart Beauty Box. This is the summer season one for subscribers who are, we assume, under the age of 35. As you might have heard, it seem Walmart sends out the beauty box samples according to the age you put in your profile. Other bloggers have figured out it seems that those who are under 35 get one splash of goodies, while those over 35 get other things. (Usually the younger group gets a full-sized cosmetic item along with “more youthful” samples and coupons. The “old lady box” group tends to get more moisturizer foils, shampoo, and wrinkle oils!)

I was curious about this, so I signed up for both. Spring was sort of a bust since I signed up so late, so my real comparisons will begin with summertime!

First off, I saw the full sized cosmetic sample wasn’t the same as I’ve seen others already getting. Instead of an NYC lip gloss, I found a Revlon Ultra HD Lipstick in Gladiolus nestled in with all the other things. Happy! Well, pretty happy… there’s a $1.00 off coupon on the back which is good. I received this same shade in my Target summer box and it is just barely too orange for my coloring. It’s a great product, though, and I used my coupon from that to grab a lipstick in Petunia which I adore. This one is going to go to my friend Deanna, who may or may not get the coupon with it!

2015 07 09 Revlon Ultra HD lippy courtney

Next came the Clear Scalp & Hair Therapy anti-dandruff shampoo. It smells good, and it promises “stronger, more beautiful hair in 7 days”. I really don’t have a need for another shampoo sample, especially as it didn’t come with a conditioner, but I’ll probably use this and try a hack I saw – using a bit of shampoo instead of specialized cleaner to wash makeup brushes. And they’ll definitely smell good, too!

Then I pulled out something I’m really excited to try: John Frieda Beach Blonde Sea Waves Sea Salt Spray. It’s a texturizer for your hair, to help create touseled or windswept styles. I’ve seen people use this on Facebook and Pinterest, so I’m happy to have a chance to try it out for myself. I really didn’t want to spend the money for a full bottle and then not like it!

Neutrogena Healthy Skin Boosters facial cleanser. I got this in my last box. I passed the other one over to Hims to try out, and he seemed to like it. I might try this one, but I might pass it over to him again, too. Heaven knows I have enough facial cleansers!

2015 07 09 Clear Frieda Neutrogena border

Ooooh, Nivea Soft Moisturizing Creme! I really do love this, and I haven’t a clue why I’ve not replenished my supply in… well, years. This is almost a full size of the small tin, and it’s just perfect for me to slip into whatever purse I’m using that day. It has a nice scent, though it might be a bit strong for some, and it disappears into your skin quickly and isn’t greasy at all. And yes, it’s really good for dry skin.

And another Neutrogena product! This time it’s the Neutrogena Healthy Volume mascara in black. I’m not so sure I’ll use this, especially since I have a ton of mascaras I can already choose from. The thing is – it’s not sealed in plastic, so I’m not sure if it would be okay to put in a giveaway bag. I haven’t used it or even opened it, though!

2015 07 09 Nivea Neutrogena border

This sample of Aveeno Protect + Hydrate sunscreen lotion comes with a $2.00 coupon on the back of the enclosed card. The sample is an SPF 30 tube, which is great for me to toss in my purse if I’m going to be out a lot – something to apply to my arms to help protect them from burning. I don’t know if this stuff will make me break out if I put it on my face, but I’m game to try. (My tinted moisturizer is already an SPF 20, so it’s not like I’m completely unprotected.) For once, the coupon doesn’t expire within a month or two, either!

I do like perfume samples, and the You & I from One Direction (because we know these guys are really blending fragrances on their days off) smells good. Not great, but good. I guess I can just tell it’s a drugstore perfume because I’m not used to them. If you want a nice scent to spritz on that smells of fruit and flowers (they say with an undertone of musk, too), then you should go get some of this.

2015 07 09 perfume Aveeno border

And for the foils! The first one is a three-days-worth application of Jergens Natural Glow. This is for medium to tan skintones, which I am pretty far away from, so I’d be afraid to use this “3 days to glow” self-tanning moisturizer. Okay, even if the little packet could cover my body, which there ain’t no way. Maybe when I was skinny and 16, but not now!

The other foils are from the Ken Paves You Are Beautiful line, like I got last time. These are the volumizing shampoo and conditioner. Again, I doubt I will use these just because it’s a pain in the tuckus to open these suckers in a shower.

2015 07 09 Jergens Paves foils border

That’s what I got! I see some people received a fold out card with makep brush tips and tricks, and some really good coupons for different brushes. Alas, this wasn’t in mine. Others got a Neutrogena Sport SPF 70 tube of sunscreen instead of the Aveeno. Others got a lip gloss from NYC instead of the Revlon lipstick, and I am not sure I’ve yet seen anyone else who got the Neutrogena mascara.

Waiting on the old lady box to see what happens there! 🙂

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

Leave a Reply

