Posted in Thursday Thankfuls, Weight Watchers

Thursday Thankfuls: A Successful First Week

My first week on Weight Watchers is done. (Okay, so it’s the first week of my umpteenth return. It still counts!) All week I tracked. I tracked everything. Even when I drank bottles of water. I tracked the ice cream and the fried chicken and the pasta I ate. I didn’t really exercise because I was being pretty lazy.

And I still lost 7.2 pounds.

This isn’t what can be expected each week, I realize – though I sure wouldn’t complain! The first two or three weeks you usually wind up losing faster than you will later on. Still, what a nice boost to my morale. Now, if I can lose about three pounds this week, I’ll really be happy!

After my meeting, Hims and I did some running around, and then wound up trying a new eatery that seems to be doing a good business. I think we just wound up with a waitress who either didn’t know what she was doing or just didn’t give a damn last night, but the service was way less than stellar. Steak N Shake has better service. The cook seemed the same way, at least with our food. (Maybe he was messing up the food because he didn’t like the waitress? I know that can happen sometimes.) The mozzarella sticks we ordered for an appetizer were overdone. Hims’ Reuben was dripping with buttery grease on one slice while bone dry on the other. I’d asked the waitress before I ordered if the broccoli was steamed or boiled, and she replied it was grilled and only had salt on it – nothing else at all. When I got it, it was obvious it had been boiled, probably before the dinner rush, and it was drenched in salty butter. Normally it wouldn’t bug me, but I’d not wanted anything on it for a reason – because I ordered fish and chips and was shaving off a few points by not getting butter. Well, the “chips” were like McDonald’s fries, and while that can be forgiven, the tremendously overcooked fish can’t.

Now, I did something I have rarely done ever. Before, I would have been quiet about it, grousing a bit with Hims, but eating it anyway because I was hungry or because it was there. But this time – hell, it wasn’t “points-worthy”. It wasn’t good, and I didn’t want to eat it, nor did I want Hims to have to pay for it. To the semi-confusion of the waitress, I returned the food, and didn’t ask for anything else. It took at least four of the staff about fifteen minutes to figure out they should probably scratch my meal from the ticket.

Now, I am sure the place is good otherwise, and we just came at a bad time and would have done better with a different waitress. The parking lot always has cars in it, and other people seemed happy with their food. (The waitress for the table next to us was checking on them at decent intervals – ours only checked on us when bringing the tartar sauce that should have arrived with the meal.) I’d love to give it another chance, but Hims isn’t about to do so anytime soon.

Still – yay for me! I didn’t cave and eat what I really didn’t want to eat!

My first five pounds lost sticker! Now to get about 95 more of those...
My first five pounds lost sticker! Now to get about 95 more of those…
Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

Leave a Reply

