Posted in cosmetics, subscriptions

Unboxing Walmart Beauty Box: Spring for Under 35!

Yes, yes, I have been sitting on this for a few weeks. With the arrival of the Under 35 box for summer yesterday, I figured I’d better post it.

You might remember my chagrin at all the dull stuff in the “old lady box” from WalMart’s spring round (I mistook it for summer since it arrived in June). Lots and lots of foil packets, moisturizers, and shampoos. Of course I use things like that, but when I get one of these beauty boxes, I want at least one “fun” item, wouldn’t you? So after viewing a few more vlog unboxings of the WalMart spring box, both over and under 35, I decided to sign up as a 20 year old under my first name. It didn’t take too long for the new box to arrive.

Perfume and facial wipes
Perfume and facial wipes

As you can see, there’s another sample of the Lady Gaga Fame Black Fluid perfume. It’s okay, but it’s not one I’d really need more samples for! The Simple Cleansing Facial Wipes on the other hand is something I can totally get into. I love things like this to keep in my purse or bag! Especially during the summer – wiping one over my face after I’ve been exercising and am sweaty is just a wonderful feeling. (And it keeps my face from feeling dirty and itchy!) I’ve tried these, and I really like them. Large towelette with plenty, but not too much, cleansing stuff on them. This I might buy at the store, though I have a ton of facial wipes from Burt’s Bees that I adore.

The tubes of stuff
The tubes of stuff

The Jergens BB Body Cream was also included in the Old Lady Box. I have to say it’s grown on me just a little bit. Still nothing I would purchase on my own, but I am using the samples. I like the little travel size of the Dove Go Fresh Body Wash. I have no idea what a tiare flower is, but mixed with the scent of mandarin oranges it all comes out smelling delicious. A great little thing to have when traveling or when you realize you ran out of bath soap and can’t get to the store yet! I haven’t tried the St. Ives Green Tea Scrub, mainly because I have plenty of full-sized products from Olay and Burt’s Bees that exfoliate quite nicely already. Again, this is probably something I’ll just shove in a spare bag to save for trips or emergencies. It’s the same thing with the Neutrogena Healthy Skin Boosters Facial Cleanser: while I’ve grown up with Neutrogena products and lovelovelove their sesame bath oil, it’s just not a product I need at the moment.

The foil packets!
The foil packets!

And of course, the foil packets! Again, I see the Ken Paves You Are Beautiful hair care line. I just don’t know that I would ever use this. Messing with foils in the shower is a pain in the ass to say the least, and I can’t see that I would go to the trouble of emptying all of the foils into little pots before using them, either. It might be a great product, but maybe they should think about using travel sizes instead? (We are so spoiled, aren’t we?) The other foil is Nivea’s In Shower Body Lotion. I really like Nivea, and though this is another dreaded foil I might go ahead and try it. Not that it’ll cover even half my body! There’s a $1.00 off coupon on the back of the card, which expires August 1, so I guess I’d better try it soon if I’m going to, right?

And that was that. I was disappointed to not see any makeup or anything in this one, either, though I know earlier ones included a full-sized Rimmel mascara. I’m guessing I didn’t receive one because it was sent out late and they had probably run out of the things.

As a spoiler, I will say that I was a bit more pleasantly surprised by the Under 35 Box I just received for summer. Not telling you what was in it yet, but stay tuned – it’s coming! Now I just hope to be as surprised by the Old Lady Box as well!

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

Leave a Reply

