Posted in Thursday Thankfuls, Weight Watchers

Thursday Thankfuls: Going Back Again

Last night, I did it. I walked back into Weight Watchers for a meeting. I’d already signed back up online that morning – though the site still won’t give me my membership card – and I reconnected my ActiveLink right after. Part of me kept trying to convince the rest of me that I didn’t need to stay for the meeting. I can just go in, redo the paperwork, and weigh in. Period. Just walk right back out after that. Which yes, I could do… but I forced myself to turn around and walk into the meeting room. I even took my old seat in the very front, though I was tempted to slink in one of the back rows. (The one thing that kept me from doing that was I didn’t know if those were “claimed seats”, where someone always sat. You know how that happens in group settings!)

On the white board at the front of the room, the Leader (I just can’t bring myself to call them Coaches – makes me thing of the football and basketball coaches in their coach shorts in high school) had written this bit of inspiration:

Gratitude:

It’s not happiness that brings us gratitude

It’s gratitude that brings us happiness.

And the front of the weekly newsletter has this emblazoned on it:

2015 07 02 WW weekly

I just had to laugh – what a perfect time for me to return, when Weight Watchers is sounding like The Secret!

I left there last night telling myself this is it – this time I am making it work. My birthday is five weeks away; I hope to maybe lose ten pounds by then. Renaissance Faire here in Ohio begins in September and goes through til October 25 – I want to have shed fifteen or maybe twenty pounds by the time we go (assuming we go this year). I’ve also taken my measurements, not just the few they have for the WW app, but in an Excel spreadsheet I found online. When there’s a time that the scale isn’t showing me what I need to see, I hope the measurements will.

This time, this time, this time!

Author:

Syd is a Midwestern girl who doesn’t think the term “girl” is sexist in the least – especially after she left her 20s. She holds a huge love for history (from WWI through the end of WWII, Victorian, Regency, and Elizabethan eras), some science fiction, and likes to pass the time reading, working with photography and needlework, and writing things. Lots of things. Syd likes to dance, too, but she looks like an utter goob doing so!

Leave a Reply

